top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Visiting the Big Apple During Halloween


As we all could have guessed, Halloween in 2020 is looking a bit different. Haunted excursions are from our cars, trick-or-treating has been called dangerous, and gatherings of any kind are frowned upon. My best friend and I always spend Halloween together since 2015. The holiday is the thing we share since we live across the country from one another. We had 2020 planned out, but due to work and the Covid-19 situation, we decided to spend this year apart since she lives in New York City, and I live in Los Angeles.

Last year, I had the opportunity to travel to New York City to visit her and spend the holiday. I had never spent more than a weekend in NYC, so having a full week in the city was going to be a new experience for me. I was able to take my time and see things I necessarily would have had to forfeit on if I only stayed a weekend.

First, I will start with the year-round activities you can partake in within the Big Apple.



The 9/11 Memorial & Museum - For those of us who remember this tragic event, this memorial and museum are one of the most important things you can see within New York City. Emotion will overcome you as you step off the subway onto the site where the Twin Towers once stood. The overwhelming feeling of sorrow will encompass you as you see the thousands of names engraved into the memorial. With that said, it is crucial to recognize the victims and families affected by this tragic event in our United States history. Throughout my life, I have been able to meet people who have been directly affected by this tragedy. When I visit the memorial, I remember my friend's faces and how strong they have to be on that day every year when it comes around.


Grab yourself a ticket to the 9/11 Museum to see some of the memorabilia and remaining structure of the Towers. The museum tells the story of 9/11 through artifacts, imagery, personal experiences, and interactive technology. Their exhibits are compelling and critical to learn from and witness in person. The objects obtained from the site, back in 2001, show how massive the damage was to the area and how impactful. The In Memoriam portion of the museum features 2,977 individuals killed as a result of the terrorist attacks that took place in 2001 but also includes the individuals whose lives were lost in the terrorist bombing of the World Trade Center on February 26, 1993. The museum is one of the most impactful museums I have visited in my life. The respect that's shown for the victims throughout the museum is commendable and sincere. This museum is one everyone should frequent in their lifetimes.



Visit DUMBO, Brooklyn - DUMBO, an acronym for Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass, is one of the wealthiest boroughs in Brooklyn. It also is the 4th prosperous community in New York City. Thanks to the start-up technology industries that took over this part of Brooklyn, the area is desired as real estate for residential living. The space is home to many hidden, boutique-like coffee shops and stores, and the restaurants the line the water are scenic and delicious. Many people will travel to this area to take a photo on the famous intersection of Washington Street and Water Street for their latest Instagram post. Make your way towards the water to capture beautiful views of the Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan Bridge. This area is a great place to explore and have a photoshoot or two while visiting New York City.


Take a Walk through Central Park - When visiting New York City, you have to visit Central Park right? Especially during the fall, the trees and foliage are magnificent and picturesque. Home to many different attractions such as the landscapes of the Ramble and Lake, Hallett Nature Sanctuary, the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir, and Sheep Meadow all allow the modern city-folk to feel like they have been able to escape a bit. Also, the park offers amusement attractions like Wollman Rink, Central Park Carousel, and the Central Park Zoo. Central Park has something for everyone. The formal spaces that are used within the park are the Central Park Mall, Bethesda Terrace, and the Delacorte Theater. While walking, you can always see some events happening within the park, and you can watch the smiles of fellow visitors and locals alike. My favorite thing to see in Central Park is the statue of Balto. Commemorating the lives saved in Nome, Alaska, during the Diphtheria outbreak in 1925, the icon of Balto represents all the hard work the sled dogs accomplished during that brutal winter to save many.


Broadway - I wasn't able to watch a show on Broadway during my last trip to NYC, but I have spent many weekends in the city for the sole purpose of catching a classic theater show. Some of my favorite shows are no longer running, such as Hairspray (which was magnificent, and I am so sad it no longer is around), but there are endless amounts of shows that continue to have long run times on Broadway. Phantom of the Opera, which is the longest-running show on Broadway, is a must-see. Everything from the storyline to the set design is perfection. The music is well-renowned, and the actors who portray the main characters always have exceptional voices. This show is the longest-running musical for a reason, and if you have a chance, you should see it. For more information about current running shows, I will link Broadway's website here.

Now time for the Halloween information!

I had spent Halloween in many different areas before, whether it was my hometown, Savannah, Georgia, or Salem, Massachusetts. I had never spent the holiday in a big city. I went into this Halloween trip with little to no expectations because I did not know what to expect from a city atmosphere. My best friend and I had done research online and found clubs that were pre-selling tickets for a Halloween event. We read about the massive Halloween parade that takes place in Manhattan, and we even researched pop up bars around the area that was strictly Halloween themed. The options were endless, so how do we pick?

My friend and I knew that we wanted to go out dancing for Halloween from the start. After researching online, we were left more confused than ever. There were so many options. How would we know which one was the best choice? Long story short... we didn't. We ended up picking some random bar that happened to have the most economical price. Well, you get what you pay for. Our experience there was short-lived and unfavorable, so now we know never to make that mistake again. The bar claimed to have a "no wait time," and we stood in line for about an hour outside because the bar was at full capacity. Then when I got to the bouncer and gave him my ID, he claimed it was fake. I was 24 at the time and offered to show him my credit cards, which obtained the same name as the one on my ID because it was a real ID. Usually, this scenario wouldn't have upset me if the bouncer was a little friendlier! He started claiming I was some random "chick" who wanted to be "cool" and impress her older friends with my fake ID (by the way, he said this in a way that is not blog appropriate). I was taken aback and started fighting him about it and pointed out that I had already paid for the ticket to get inside, and you had to be at least 21 to do that. Eventually, he let me inside but instructed another bouncer to continuously watch me and make sure I did not order a drink. Excuse me? No thanks. Why would I want to have a much older man watch me all night when I am trying to have a good time with my friends? After about ten minutes, my friend and I left the bar and didn't return. In the future, I will only be buying event tickets to reputable bars or clubs.

The Halloween parade that takes place annually in Manhattan was the most exciting part of my Halloween night. I am a parade lover, and this was the highlight of my Halloween experience in 2019. The parade held thousands of people lining up to witness the annual event. Almost everyone was in costume, myself included, and people were chatting away before the spectacle had started. Once the first float reached our location, I could tell this was no average Halloween parade. The floats looked like someone spent all year working on them, and many were all decked out with Halloween themed sayings and decorations. The people who were watching the parade were feeding off each other's energy. People "oohed" and "awed" in unison, sang Halloween songs playing off the floats, and took endless amounts of footage on their smartphones. I felt like I was at a Disney parade on steroids! The parade lasted almost three hours long from start to finish, and that is not including the hour waiting on the curb to get a spot to see. If parades and crowds are your things, then I highly recommend the annual Manhattan Halloween Parade for you.

During the holiday season, pop-up bars sprout around major cities. It is an easy way for corporations to make money and spread holiday cheer. Around Halloween, whether in NYC or LA, the Beetlejuice pop up bar experience makes an appearance. My friend and I ended up not being able to go in 2019, but the themed drinks and decor made the pop-up bar experience seem alluring and made our list for the next time we celebrate Halloween in NYC.


When it came to getting around the Big Apple, transportation was not an issue. The metros were not more crowded than usual, taxis were still buzzing about, and Ubers are now a common way to get around. When it came to walking a few blocks, the streets had people in costumes shouting compliments back and forth to one another. I decided to be Kim Possible, and many people my age were asking me to stop and take pictures with them. I was flattered and thrilled that many people recognized who I was portraying and that they liked my costume enough to stop me and take a photo. I felt like a cosplayer at a convention. It was both thrilling but exhausting. Walking in NYC is the most convenient way to travel, but also the most tiring. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes if you decide to walk and not heels as I did. My feet were sore for days after Halloween night.

Being with friends or family during the spooky season is what makes or breaks your holiday. Even while experiencing some negative things, I wouldn't have wanted to spend my Halloween with anyone else. My friends made the night enjoyable and fun! Overall, New York City is a great city to visit and explore. As for spending Halloween there, I will be sure to do some more research when it comes to pre-paid events and be sure I have flat shoes to go along with my costume. With 2020 being the way it is, I will be sad I do not get to spend the holiday enjoying myself and dressing up while exploring the LA area. Hopefully, by 2021's Halloween season, my best friend can make the journey out my way, and we will be able to do everything we had planned to do this year. Make sure to stay safe this Halloween and to find a mask that coordinates with your costume if you decide to dress up!


10 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page