top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Hitting the Slopes in Vermont


Vermont is a high demand area right now to escape the Coronavirus. Mountains are open and taking all the COVID-19 precautions as possible. Vermont is a state based on its outdoor activities. Their ski season, along with tourism, is one of their main sources of income.


I have mentioned this before in previous posts, but Vermont is where I was born and raised. Many people assume I am an avid skier, but while I was younger, I spent most of my winter skating on ice rather than upon the mountain. I did take the basic ski lesson here and there growing up, but I did not ski as often as I do in my adult life now. I did not pick up skiing until I was in college, and I only ski a few times a season.


For me, coming home to Vermont and quarantining is not challenging. It is easier than if people were to spend a vacation here. I can stay as long as I want at my parents' house, while others might not have the luxury to afford to stay at a hotel for 14 days while they quarantine. Many hotels in Killington, where I live close by, even require you to bring a negative test to show them proof that you are COVID free.


When I visit home for the holidays each year, I try to get to the mountain a few times before I travel back to Los Angeles. Since I started skiing later in life, I would not say that I am an advanced skier, but probably intermediate at this point in my life. I am not as confident on my skis as my skates, so I mostly stick to Pico Mountain in Killington, Vermont.


Pico Mountain is a smaller mountain, with fewer trails than other mountains in Vermont. I am comfortable with the paths and the difficulty levels that are available there. It is a wonderful peak for intermediate skiers to challenge themselves, but not be over their heads. When I did ski while I was younger, this was the mountain my parents would teach me. It must be a trend for locals to teach their kids at this mountain, because when I was skiing, recently I noticed all of the children getting towed by their parents.


If you want another mountain more difficult than Pico or larger, Killington Ski Area is right up the road. The surrounding area in Vermont also consists of other mountains like Sugarbush Resort, Magic Mountain Ski Area, Okemo Mountain Resort, and Jay Peak Resort. There are also many smaller mountains available to ski scattered throughout the state.


During COVID times, I made a trip up to Pico for their opening season. I can honestly say that the employees and the mountain protocols are taking this virus seriously. Masks are required, and you have to reserve parking ahead of time so the mountain can limit the number of visitors. On the ski lift and in the lift line, you have to wear your mask at all times. The lodge is open for food, but all tables are 6 feet apart inside and they have set up picnic tables outside, so people are also able to sit out there and eat. Their food services are quick and easy food choices accompanied by a one-way aisle to avoid people walking in multiple directions. They use a contact tracing system if you use the lodge by scanning your RFID one day pass upon entrance. I felt more than safe while skiing at Pico and will probably go again before I leave to go back to Los Angeles.


I recommend checking out one of the mountains while visiting Vermont. Vermont is known for its green mountains and fantastic views. Many ski resorts are built on some of the tallest peaks in the area, so the views are magnificent, and you get to experience them as you ski down the mountain. The panoramic view of the state is picturesque and unique to any other area. On a clear ski day, the horizon can seem never-ending.


If we get to experience a good snowstorm, the snow to ski on is immaculate. Grooming of the trails and the soft powder allow for the perfect conditions while shredding down the mountain. On a good powder day, you can have endless amounts of fun all day without the snow getting significantly skied off and icy.


Depending on the weather, you can be skiing either in warm temperatures or freezing. Make sure to check the thermostat before you depart for the mountain, because Vermont's weather tends to be temperamental and ever-changing. One minute you are sweating, and the next, you are trying to save your fingers and toes from frostbite.


If you are new to skiing and you want to try it for the first time, at most resorts they provide ski lessons and equipment rentals. Never be afraid to try something new and frightening. You might fall in love with it and become the next Lindsey Vonn!


While trying to escape COVID or visiting Vermont in general during the winter, the ski mountains should be on your list of things to see and do. The views are magnificent, while the skiing conditions are fantastic. It is always humbling to start something new, but the ski mountains are the place to be to learn at your own pace. Whether you are a beginner, intermediate, or advanced, Vermont skiing has something for everyone.

6 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page