top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

The Benefits of Staying in the Meguro District

Updated: Aug 28, 2020


Known as a predominately residential area, the Meguro District is home to light industry, corporate head offices, and the Komaba campus of the University of Tokyo. It is a part of Tokyo that is relaxing and allows you to escape the busy hustle of the city. If you are looking for something affordable, cute (or kawaii), and quiet, the Meguro district was absolutely that.


When I first arrived in Tokyo, I was ready to check into the hotel, find something to eat, and sleep to get ready for the busy week of exploring I was going to have. My friends and I reached Nakameguro, a residential district within Meguro, around about 9 p.m. As we drove down this tiny street, I was seriously questioning if it was a pedestrian walkway. Strung lights hung over the roadway ahead, establishing an aesthetic look like it was right off of Pinterest. Lights from the shop windows lit up the street, making it seem like streetlights were not needed. It looked straight out of an anime I had recently watched.

We pulled up to this tiny hotel that had the sign out front that read, Grand Residence Nakameguro. Our hotel for the next five days. We received the keys from the front desk and made our way up the stairs to the room we were renting out. It was an apartment-style room that was perfect for the week. It was clean, spacious, and comfortable. There were two bedrooms; one had two twin beds, while the other had one queen bed. Since I was traveling with three other friends, this apartment gave all of us enough room to relax.


The hotel's location was in a perfect area. The metro was a ten-minute walk down the street, restaurants and boutiques lined the same street as the hotel, and the roadway was quiet. Everything I could have hoped for was in this one location. On top of everything, the price of the hotel was affordable! It was the perfect find for myself and my friends.

The restaurants in the Meguro district consisted of Japanese food, Mexican, American, and much more! After spending three months in Hong Kong previously to this trip, I was craving a good ole American cheeseburger at this point in our travels. Come to our surprise, my friends and I found the most incredible restaurant right down the street from our hotel. Sun2Diner was a quaint place, with a live free feel. Having the walls being covered with surfer furnishings and broadcasting the surf videos on the televisions, this restaurant felt like you stepped out of Japan and straight into California. I got the classic California Burger that included avocado. Everything was ripe and cooked to perfection. I even think this burger might have been the best burger I have ever had. My friends and I ended up eating here more than once throughout the week just because the vibe was so unbelievable, and the food was fantastic! Unfortunately, in 2018 the Sun2Diner restaurant closed its doors. Luckily, it now is a food truck! You can check out their website here to see updates on the new venture. The restaurant to replace Sun2Diner is now known as The Burger Factory owed by the same owner as Sun2Diner. I will miss the vibe of Sun2Diner for sentimental reasons, but I am sure The Burger Factory is just as tasty since the owners are the same.


During our first night, we arrived in Tokyo, the stores around the Grand Residence were open a lot later than we expected. We decided to venture out for a bit to see what was in the area and check out the boutiques. The fashion in Tokyo is a lot different than my style, but looking at all the unique clothes and colors was fascinating. Each store had a different feel. One sold only dresses, while another was only shoes, and so on. All the stores are within walking distance of the hotel. It was nice to know we could venture out without a GPS and run into so much stuff we were looking to discover.

As the week continued, we explored other areas of Tokyo and did not remain in the Meguro district the entire time. Returning to this district every night was easy and accessible, no matter where we were in Tokyo. The quiet, serene feeling that washed over you as you walked down the streets was rejuvenating. It allowed you to feel at peace after a busy day, and escape the noise. Finding meals in the morning and late are night was easy and quick. Due to these factors, the Meguro District is always going to be my place to stay while in Tokyo.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page