top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Things to Carry Around With You in Hong Kong

When traveling abroad, you might not always know what you need when exploring. You have never been to the area or city before. Other than the endless amounts of Google searching and 2nd hand advice from others who have been there, you do not know what to expect.


I didn't know anyone who had traveled to Hong Kong before. Like many other students, I had never been abroad before, and I had never traveled to a foreign country without my parents either. Even with the months of preparation for my trip, I didn't know how naive I was to live in a city. I also didn't know what it was like to live in a foreign city. As I arrived and experienced my first few weeks, there were a few items I realized I always needed to carry in Hong Kong.


Cash -

First and foremost, you need to carry cash with you in Hong Kong. Many local shops, restaurants, and businesses do not take credit cards, especially foreign ones. Within my first day, I realized this. I had stepped off the plane, and I needed to take a taxi to my hotel for the night. The taxis were cash-only service. Some of them had credit card machines, but most of them did not. Luckily, I had just enough to pay for the taxi at the end of the ride, but it was a close call. Also, using cash is a way to avoid international charges. Depending on the bank, with every international transaction, a percentage is taken out too. It is easier to take out more money from the ATM and be charged one time, rather than be charged for each purchase.


Octopus Card -

This card is a LIFESAVER! I do not know how I would have gotten around Hong Kong without it. This rechargeable card allows you to pay for bus fare, metro and works in most convenient stores. They offer tourist ones and short term octopus cards if you are only visiting for a short time. Using this within the city allowed me to save time, not worry about having exact fares in cash, and get around faster in general. I wrote an entire article about Octopus Cards within Hong Kong, and next time I visit, I will be sure to get one!


Toilet Paper -

Having toilet paper or some disposable tissue in your backpack is always a good idea when visiting another country. I found that many public restrooms in Hong Kong do not supply any like in the United States. It is custom to bring your own to other countries. Within the city of Hong Kong, there seemed to be more restrooms that supplied it, but as soon as you venture to the outskirts of the city area, you are on your own.


Travel Books/ Language Book -

I always carried around with me a travel book to read about the city. Since Hong Kong is so massive, I made sure I knew what my options were. Having a book with me allowed me to look up what there was to do in an area I was already in by chance. That helped save me some time during my trip, so I did not feel like I had to go back to that location at a different time. Also, having a language book on hand was very helpful. Even though most of the signs within Hong Honk are in English, some are also in Cantonese, their national language. Having the book allowed me to look up what a specific sign meant or which direction I needed to go.


Sweater/ Jacket -

In the warmer months in Hong Kong, a sweater, or jacket, might not be needed. In the cooler months, it is! Hong Kong gets all four seasons so the nights can get pretty chilly. To be safe, I always bring a jacket for the cooler air by the harbor, or for the air conditioning in the summer.


Umbrella -

There is a rainy season in Hong Kong. May through September, Hong Kong gets 80 percent of its rain. Also, the rain will come on suddenly. It could have been sunny one moment, then torrential downpour the next. Hong Kong also can get typhoons, so when it does rain hard, make sure to have the weather report close because typhoons can turn nasty fast!


Comfortable Shoes -

That is the last and probably most important item on my list. Sometimes you want to look stylish and wear those high heels that match your outfit. I get it. We all do that. In Hong Kong, make sure you have a pair of comfy shoes to change into too. With all the walking and standing within the city, the last thing you want to think about is your aching, beat-up feet. Always pack a pair to be safe. Better to be safe than sorry!


These are all things I learned on the fly while in Hong Kong. I wish I had known someone to warn me about what I would need every day around the city. You would think that some of these would be common sense, but sometimes you can be caught up in the adventure of it all. Enjoy the experience as much as possible, but do it sensibly and well informed. That is always the best way to travel.

1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page