top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Octopus Card: The Must-Have Item for Hong Kong


When traveling, it is significant to know the ins and outs of how to get around the area you are visiting. While in a major city, transportation can be one of the major obstacles when navigating. There are bus systems, metro lines, and even walking. Cell phones have made this obstacle a bit easier, but what about if you physically need to have something? Like a certain amount of money, or a bus pass? While I was in Hong Kong, I encountered this problem on my first day, and I found a simple solution. The Octopus Card.


The Octopus Card in Hong Kong is a reusable stored value smart card for making electronic payments throughout Hong Kong. It started as being limited to transportation only. Now, its use has expanded to retail stores, supermarkets, convenience stores, fast-food restaurants. The card is used for parking meters, car parks, petrol stations, vending machines, fee payment at public libraries, and swimming pools. Among locals, it's purpose expands to non-payment purposes, such as school attendance and access control for office buildings and housing estates. Octopus Cards essential to everything in Hong Kong, which makes them a magnificent necessity when traveling.


To purchase an Octopus Card, you have to go to a nearby metro transit station and ask for the appropriate paperwork. There are different categories of cards, such as adult, child, elder, and personalized. There is a small start-up fee to create and purchase the card. In the long run, it is worth the money.


When I say these cards were handy, I mean they were essential. I debated with the thought of not getting one at the beginning of my trip, and I am so glad I did not go in that direction. I was in Hong Kong for three months, and I cannot see myself not having one. It would have been so much more troublesome. It wouldn't have been impossible, but it made my life so much easier. It was easy to adjust to the new way of life, relying on one physical card, because it allowed me to not carry multiple cards with me and lightened how much I had to lug around. My only fear with the Octopus Card was the fact if you lose it. You start to rely so much on the card that if it were to be lost, it would have been detrimental.


Other than a travel visa, this card may be the most important object you need while visiting Hong Kong. Recharging the card is easy and convenient. There are kiosks all over the city and many attendants to help you. Since English is an everyday language in Hong Kong, all kiosks and signage are in English and Cantonese. You will always have the option of English in Hong Kong, which makes recharging the card so much easier than in other areas.


The number one way of how to use the card is the touch kiosks. You gently place the card against the stall, and it reads the card. It will automatically deduct the amount needed to ride the bus, metro, or buy the object you desire. The card allows for you not have to worry about exact change, or any amount as long as you know there is money on your card. When your balance is starting to deplete, the kiosks or receipts given to you will tell you the remaining balance.


Overall, this is the easiest way to pay for smaller objects, meals, or transportation. I suggest getting this card even if you are visiting Hong Kong for a short period. If you are going to be there for a longer time, you need to get one. It will make your life so much easier and carefree. I had become so attached to my Octopus Card that even once I returned to the United States, I realized I was reaching for it when I needed to travel on the bus of a metro system. Whenever I return to Hong Kong, it will be the first thing that I get and probably use. Take the time to do the paperwork, and enjoy the carefree travel.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page