top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Phoenix: Walking Through Roosevelt Row The Art District


During Covid-19, traveling has become rather challenging. Sure, you can go to destinations, but finding activities to participate in are almost impossible. Most stores, events, and eateries have taken an enormous hit due to this pandemic. Most are closed, and some even have permanently shut down. So here I was sitting in my Airbnb, googling activities that were available to me.


One of the options I found was to take a walk through a place in downtown Phoenix called Roosevelt Row. At first glance the area looks like where your average hipster would like to hang out, but this area attracts many different types of people from all over the world. Roosevelt Row is known for its incredible street art plastered throughout the arts district. You can experience all types of styles of murals, such as realistic to surrealism.


I made my way to the area in the heat of the midday sun. It was 110 degrees outside, and I knew I was in for some tireless sweating and heat exhaustion. I grabbed my water and parked my car in the parking garage at the end of the street (you can't miss it; the entirety of the garage is decorated as a giant mural) and stepped out into the sunlight. As I made my way down the street, the art started to appear in front of my eyes. I was walking through the back alleys behind buildings to catch a glimpse of some hidden art, as well as walking the main strip. Immediately, I noticed most of the restaurants and bars were closed due to the never-ending pandemic, but I was not going that to allow a damper on my day. Eventually, I came to the store PHX GEN. The door was cracked open, and I was in dire need of some air conditioning, so I stepped inside.


The boutique was unique. Delicately designed jewelry was displayed, and the clothing hung with even space in between. They even were selling stylish tye-dye face-masks. I kept wondering why there was no one around the area. It was deserted other than the occasional run-in with a local. It almost created an apocalyptic feeling within me. The store was the same. I was the only customer within the whole store, and there was only one other employee with me. My curiosity got the best of me, so I struck up a conversation with the employee. I started by asking if the area was always uninhabited like this. He explained that midday is regularly abandoned, due to the heat and sun. That most people came out either early in the morning or at night. He also said that COVID had put a damper on businesses and foot traffic. He said I should come back after dark because then Roosevelt Row was the place to be.


I left PHX GEN and began along the sidewalk once again. More and more street art keeps popping up! I was amazed by how many murals there were, some of which had great Instagram opportunities. These murals were sometimes small or scaled the entirety of a side of the building. It was a great way to spend an afternoon exploring while staying safe outside during the pandemic. It allowed me to relax and take a lovely stroll while admiring artwork along the way.


I highly recommend the area as a tremendous opportunity for art enthusiasts to get their art fix while museums are closed. Also, for anyone who wants a trendy Instagram photo destination, this would be the place to be! The area is colorful, fun, and relaxing all at once! I haven't seen anywhere else quite like it, and it should be a must-see when traveling in Phoenix, Arizona.



6 views0 comments

留言


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page