top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

My Traditional Kimono Experience

Before going to Japan, my friends and I were trying to find some authentic, unique experiences to do in the Tokyo area. We wanted to have a chance to appreciate and participate in a traditional part of the Japanese culture. After doing some thorough research, we stumbled upon The Tokyo Hana Kimono Experience.

We paid for the adventure before we got to Japan. We did so because the tickets were selling out quickly. We wanted to make sure we were able to do the experience on our desired day. Overall the price was about 27 USD for each of us. The event starts when you reach the Hana Kimono Rental shop located near the Asakusa Station. Once you enter the rental shop, you get to choose from hundreds of patterns and colors. You receive the best assistance to help you get dressed in the kimono. After you are clothed, in the kimono, they then do your hair and makeup. They let you pick certain hairstyles that they offer within the shop and then continue to do your hair. The whole dressing/ hairstyling takes about 30-40 minutes. Once you are in the kimonos, you are allowed to walk around can stay in your kimonos until the return time of 5:30 p.m.


To reach the shop, my friends and I needed to take the metro line that morning. People were all lined up against the yellow line ready to push into the nearest car since we went during prime time rush hour. You see these videos online about people squeezing their way onto the metro and trying to avoid the doors. Well, this was absolutely that. It was the most crowded metro I have ever been too. My friend had luckily been to Tokyo before and was able to get us our week-long metro passes. Without her, I probably would have skipped the metro and taken a taxi instead to avoid the crowds.

Once we reached the rental shop, we checked in, and they allowed us to store our belongings in safes. They advised to keep anything important with you, but with the kimonos on, there were not pockets, and the bags they provided to go with the kimonos, were a lot smaller than our travel bags.

As they helped dress us, we were able to choose kimonos from hundreds of patterns and colors. If you have a smaller body frame, you had even more choices to choose from than that. The assistance you received at this rental shop was immaculate. They were very touching and kept complimenting our hair and height and features. They helped get you into the kimono and snuggly wrapped you like a burrito in the cloth. I have wider hips and a more athletic build, so they had to pull tight on my waist to make sure the material would not slip. I. Could. Not. Breathe. I underestimated how tight kimonos are. At first, I felt like I was suffocating because I was not used to the tightness of the kimono, but within a few moments, my body adjusted, and I could breathe normally again. My friend is a petite woman, and she felt the same way as well. We made eye contact with each other, signaling that the kimonos were tight. Once the kimono is in place, and they wrapped you up with all the extra cloth and bows for decoration, they moved you to the hair section of the experience.

The hairstylists let you pick certain hairstyles that are traditional to the Japanese culture. They had a poster showing each style based on what length of hair you had. At the time of the trip, my hair was down to my waist. I chose to have my hair completely up and braided to the side in a bun. This way, I would not feel like my hair was not getting in my face, and I would not have to worry about it. They then accessorize your hair with a traditional flower to match your kimono. These are not real flowers but are hair accessory ones. The whole process of dressing and hairstyling can take anywhere between 45-60 minutes. Once the process is complete, we were able to stay in the kimonos the entire day if we wished.


Finally, all four of us were in our kimonos, with traditional shoes, accessories, and hairstyles. The workers helped us take group photos with their cameras and even print a copy, one for each person themselves. We had a bit of a fashion show in the shop while taking pictures with our cell phones. The employees were laughing along with side us and making us feel comfortable within the kimonos.

Reflecting, I understand how this could be seen as cultural appropriation since all our nationalities were white and not at all Japanese. At the moment, I was not thinking in that light. I don’t know if it was because I was a naive 21-year-old, or if it was more accepted for foreigners in Japan to wear the traditional robes as a sign of respect. I believe that we weren’t getting any funny stares or glares because we were gracious and treating the kimonos with respect. A lot of locals wanted to take a picture with us! I describe it as the closest thing I will ever feel to being a celebrity or fame.

We were able to walk around the district a bit with the kimonos on. We all thought that going to a temple dressed in kimonos would elevate the experience. We found the Sensoji Temple nearby and started walking. That is where a lot of the locals saw us and wanted pictures. There were a lot of younger groups of kids on school trips that wanted group photos with us. Most didn’t speak English, so they had to gesture with their hands to ask for a photo. Everyone was more than polite and super cheerful to be interacting with us. There was a line of shops in front of the temple. That attracted a lot of travelers into the area. Many asked where we were able to have kimono fittings, and we sent them in that direction.


Once we found a more secluded area by the temple, we took some photos of ourselves. The kimonos were a lot warmer than we thought they would be. The sun was starting to get to us. We were all sweating and becoming uncomfortable at this point during the day, so we took our mini photoshoots and then decided to head back to get out of the kimonos. Overall, we wore kimonos for about three hours.

When we took off the kimonos, we realized how warm they were. Our bodies felt free. I could breathe again and be able to cool off. I ended up not taking my hair out of the hairstyle because it was quite comfortable and decided to leave it in for the rest of the day. It felt nice being back in our regular clothing. It was an experience I will never forget. I have to give the traditional Japanese women credit. Those kimonos were not the most comfortable to wear for lengths of time, but they sure were beautiful.


Overall the experience was incredible! I loved being able to walk around in the traditional outfit. The kimonos are so beautiful and so creative. The workers at the rental shop were delightful and made me feel like a princess getting ready for a ball. I would recommend this experience to anyone traveling to Tokyo, Japan. It is affordable and loads of fun! It is something you will never forget in a lifetime.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page