top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Hong Kong: Nightlife and Adventure


When I began living in Hong Kong, I had just turned 21. In the United States, that is the legal age to start drinking alcohol, but in many other countries, that is not the case. In Hong Kong, the legal age is 18 to attend bars and nightclubs. That made my first outings as a 21year old a lot more interesting than an average American experience.


So how does a foreigner find out where to go for the city nightlife? My first advice would be to do research online. Find areas that are well known and safe for foreigners. My second piece of advice would be to befriend some locals and have them show you around the city. That way, you can experience the city in the eyes of its citizens.

The most popular destination for young adults to go to clubs and bars in Hong Kong is known as the Lan Kwai Fong district. Lan Kwai Fong, or also known as LKF, is made up of multiple streets that make a perfect rectangle. In this area, you can find everything from dance clubs, bars, to-go alcohol stands, and restaurants. The time to go out dancing is much different than in the United States. Since most Hong Kong bars and clubs remain open until 6 am, people start arriving around midnight. Whereas in the United States, many people go out drinking anywhere between 9 pm to 11 pm. Below I will list some tips and tricks you should know before going to this area.

How to Get There

Getting to LKF is no problem. The MTR (metro) is the easiest way. Take the red line to the Central Station and exit through exit D1 in the station. You then take a right to Pedder Street and then walk until you reach Queen's Road. Then take a left and take D'Aguliar Street and walk along that street for about 10 minutes. If you decide to go late enough, you can follow people walking in groups straight to LKF from the metro. That is how my friends and I found it the first time.

Dress Code

Some clubs and fancier restaurants will have specific dress codes. These dress codes can be found: on the websites of the clubs. As a foreigner, you can get away with a lot. I typically wore jeans, sandals, and a tank top of some sort. Since I was pretty obviously American, the bouncers at the door cared less about what I wore. The first time I went out to LKF, I wore a crop top, halter neck shirt. I was unaware of dress codes and what people in Hong Kong wore for clothing. I did not encounter any problems when it came to getting into bars or clubs, but I did feel uncomfortable. At the time, I did not realize how modest the culture was at the time, and many locals were wearing high-end dresses that were very modest and chic looking. I became uncomfortable because of stares and looks I was receiving as I walked around in a crop top. I do not think anyone genuinely cared about what I was wearing, but the glances didn't help me feel confident in my choice of attire.

Getting Into Clubs

I am not going to lie if I were a guy, I do not think I would have gone out as much as I did. Hong Kong is one of the most expensive cities in the world. The entry fees for guys was expensive. At a few clubs, the entrance fees were anywhere around 20 USD - 60 USD. Be ready to shovel out some serious cash for entrance fees. Women usually get into clubs free before midnight. That was an advantage for me because all I had to pay for were drinks. Also, many entrance fees for women came with one free drink. Drinks inside were usually starting at 8 USD or higher.

My overall favorite place to go was a club called Magnum. Women always got in for free, and the inside was roomy to dance and always exciting. The line to get in can be long, but if you go earlier in the night and get your wristband, you can skip the line. Magnum is known for its dancers and incredible taste of music. It is more of a pop/EDM music vibe, but they play songs from all different countries. The mixes never were lacking, and the vibe was always great. You were allowed to dance on everything and anything in the club. My friends and I danced on the bar, counters, the stage where the dancers would perform (when they aren't performing), and of course, the dance floor. Never once were we yelled at or told to get down. The bouncers would watch the room to make sure everyone was having a good time and being safe.

Another great club to go to is called Levels. Many of the clubs were tucked away, and you will need a local or a GPS to help you get there. Levels are one of those places. The music style inside was pretty good. They played a lot of American music, and some Korean pop here and there as well. Their drinks were the best I have had in Hong Kong! Their bartenders were experts because I never had a nasty drink in my hand. The bartenders also were super-fast, serving everyone within 5 minutes of approaching the bar. That was an upside because sometimes getting a drink in a club is a struggle.

There is this great little place on one of the corners of LKF that has a sign that says "Challenge 10 Shots for $8" this is where my friends and I would get a lot of to-go drinks. Hong Kong does not have any open container laws, so at this great little place, they give you shots to go. They also make drinks to go. This place was a great place to keep your buzz going when you weren't in the club.

The best place to go is the Club 7-Eleven. That isn't an actual club, but it is a great place to get cheap drinks. I'm talking about the actual convenient store, 7-Eleven. They sell beer and other types of alcohol there, and you can buy it and drink on the way to the next bar. It is always cheaper than buying a drink within the club, and it is the fastest. The bars and clubs will not let you enter though with a drink from outside, so you do have to finish it before going in.

Other clubs I believe you should check out while in LKF are Zentral, Play, The Iron Fairy, and Woods. Some of these clubs are in high-rises, so always look around the area and look for signs. Each time I went to LKF, we kept finding new places to try and never had the same experience twice. Lan Kwai Fong is the place to go if you want to have a fantastic night out every time you go.

Below are some more helpful things to know about when drinking abroad in Hong Kong.


Do Not Lie About Your Age

Since the drinking age is 18, the crowds are younger and rowdier. Police patrol the area looking for minors, and if caught, you can get in some serious trouble. The rowdiness of the crowd may be more exciting for some, but in some cases, it can be annoying. If you are in your mid and late twenties, be aware than the crowd is mostly consisting of those 18-year-olds who are overly excited to be experiencing something new.

Another reason to not lie about your age is that the police do ID checks. There were multiple times we were in a club, and then the lights came on, and the police came in. The first time this happened, I had no idea what was happening, and I was scared. I did not realize this was just a normal thing that happened during the night to ensure everyone was, in fact, of age. They sat us all down, made us quiet, and would not let us leave the room. Understandably I was nervous because I had no idea what was going on, but it is not a big deal if you are of age and have a form of ID on you. Most of the time, they left the foreigners alone and checked the locals' IDs only. When this happens, no one is allowed in or out of the building. If this happens and you are waiting outside in line, this can be a bit irritating. Just be patient. The check usually only takes 20 minutes.

Special Deals to Entice You

If you are not a local, be prepared to be bombarded with "special deals." Bars and restaurants will post workers outside to get people to go into the establishment. They can be very "up in your face." One man grabbed my friend's arm and led her inside the restaurant while telling her why she should eat there. Don't be scared. These people are harmless, and they are just trying to do their job. If they do offer you a special deal, ALWAYS check with the bartender or waiter. Most of the time, they will tell you a deal and not communicate it to the people inside. If you are not aware of this, the bill can be pricey! If you call the employee out and put them on the spot in front of the bartender or waiter, they will usually give you the deal they specified beforehand.

LKF is a super safe and welcoming place to be. With that said, always use common sense, and be careful of your surroundings.

Some of my favorite memories of Hong Kong were made during my time spent in Lan Kwai Fong. I met so many locals and experienced a nightlife culture like nowhere else. The atmosphere was incredible, and one of the most fun places I have ever spent. Be prepared to meet a lot of other travelers as well here. People from all over the world hear about LKF and how much fun (and money) people have spent there. I will always reflect on spending time with my close friends in this district and cherishing the moments made there forever.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page