top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Christmas Tree Shopping in Vermont


Now 2020 has thrown some major curveballs at us this past year. The biggest one being Covid 19. The families who have lost loved ones are suffering. This illness is awful and needs to be resolved there is no doubt about that. My heart sincerely goes out to those who have not been able to share the holidays with those they love, either to keep them safe or because their lives have taken.


My family and I have been taking the current state of the world very seriously. Whenever I fly to see them, I get two Covid tests before the flight and then, once I land, quarantine for the full 14 days at their home. Luckily, my full-time job has been flexible with allowing me to work remotely from across the country for the entire month of December, so I would be able to safely spend the holidays with my loved ones. Due to this, that allows me to partake in traditions we participate in every holiday season.


One of those traditions is to go cut down the Christmas tree. Now, a lot of people in Vermont will do this in the forest, but my family goes to our local Christmas tree farm, Winslow Farms. Each year Winslow Farms has produced some of our best Christmas trees we have ever had. They are 8-9 feet tall, full, and smell wonderful. Usually, my family will go on the first weekend of December, but this year we decided to go the day after Thanksgiving.


Vermont has been encouraging only to partake in activities within your immediate household. With that said, they have not issued a stay at home order allowing for businesses to still function. At a place like Winslow Farms, it is easy to stick to your family and stay away from others. Being outside allows you to safely 6ft away from others.


When we arrived, the first thing I noticed was the scent of pine. That smell for me triggers my nostalgia of when my siblings and I were smaller. We would always fight over the best tree and try to convince each other why our tree was the best fit for that Christmas. That led to tears and fights over the years, but as we grew older, we cherished the tradition of always being together.


This year was a bit entertaining. We were all wearing masks, and we couldn't see the expressions on each other's faces, so we had to emphasize what we were feeling when communicating which tree we wanted. My brother's girlfriend is spending the holidays with us, so we also had another person to keep account of. Frustrations flew as we wandered endlessly through the fields of trees to find that PERFECT tree.


The event started with my brother's girlfriend and I talking and exploring without taking the tree search seriously. My brother had been skiing that day, so he was coming from the mountain, and when he arrived, it became the three of us wandering around, not participating as much. We all stopped our walking around to see my mother and sister seriously judging every single tree they passed. My father was somewhere in the far distance, trying to find a tree he thought was acceptable and end the excursion as quickly as he could sense it was cold.


Other families must have thought we were the weirdest mixture of people because of all our different personalities and how we dressed. My father looked like a man straight out of an L.L.Bean catalog magazine with his red hat, men's bean boots, jeans, and parka, while my mom and sister looked like true North Easterners with their sweaters, leggings, poofy black jackets, and boots. My brother was all roughed up and sweaty from skiing, and his girlfriend was wearing her signature Sperry's. I was the one who stuck out the most. I have transformed into the classic LA stereotype. I was wearing my designer white jacket and knee-high boots. My sister even teased me about how I looked so out of place in Vermont. What can I say though? I like to look nice!


As the adventure continued longer, the colder and more aggravated we got. I have learned that when frustrations fly, keep your mouth shut and stay out of it. We had finally decided on a tree, and my dad was sawing it down. As it fell, almost knocking my sister over, we realized at that moment how big this tree was. At the point of the first cut, people are required to take the tree, so it was too late to turn back now. Lugging the tree to the parking lot was the next obstacle. Winslow Farms provides a sled to help drag the tree out of the farm, but the problem was the tree we had picked was far too big for the sled. That led to my father un-patiently dragging this tree out on his own. He was already a bit irritable from how long the tree picking process had taken and did not want to wait for my siblings or me to step up and carry the tree out. His grumbling and stubborn determination led to some laughter and lightheartedness from the rest of the family. He also was plowing anything in his path over and would not slow down for anything. My sister had attempted to help him, but he wouldn't slow down enough for her to properly help.


Once we paid for the tree, it was time to determine which car to tie it to. We had already purchased another smaller tree and attached it to my brother's 2007 baby blue Subaru Legacy. There was no roof rack, so my family had to get inventive when it came to tying it to the car. With all the windows rolled down in 30-degree weather, I am sure my brother had a splendid ride home. The larger tree was going on top of my father's Jeep. That was his go-to utility vehicle for all things Christmas related. With it properly attached to the roof rack, my mother and father drove home in the comfort and warmth of their car.


Meanwhile, my sister, my brother's girlfriend, and I went on an annual hot chocolate run to the local Dunkin' Donuts and reminisced about older parts of town that we passed along the way. My inner thoughts were swirling with gratefulness of being able to be home and participate in events like these, even having frustrations shown and slight fighting. I knew that later everyone would be able to have a good laugh at the situation, and it added to years of tradition.


Even though not every memory is like the movies, where people are smiling, singer carols, and not bickering, family time is always critical. Whoever people include as family, they should cherish these moments together and celebrate that 2020 is almost over. For the families who have lost loved ones this year, I hope you will reflect on the good memories with smiles and know that your lost ones will forever live on in your heart. In these challenging times, it is hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Hang in there. You have almost made it to the other side.

4 views0 comments

Comentarii


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page