top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Five Must-See Activities in Hong Kong


While living in Hong Kong for three months, I was able to explore at my leisure. Many people do not have this luxury of time to accommodate themselves to the city. That can cause Hong Kong to seem overwhelming and terrifying. Here are five easy things to see within Hong Kong that allow you to destress and breathe the anxiety of the city away.

The Hong Kong Observation Wheel

The Hong Kong Observation Wheel is located at the Central Harbourfront in Central, Hong Kong. This 197ft tall Ferris wheel is a great way to take in the site of the city skyline night or day. There are 42 enclosed gondolas, all equipped with air conditioners and communication systems. My advice is to watch the A Symphony of Lights show from the Tsim Sha Tsui side of the harbor first, which is a daily light and sound show in Hong Kong. After the show, make your way across the bay by ferry transport and take a ride on the observation wheel at night. The night views are spectacular and a for sure, must-see, while visiting Hong Kong.



The Flower Market

Originally, I was going to skip the flower market since I am not huge on buying or receiving flowers. It was my roommate who went to the flower market first and told me that this area was a must-see. It is an open-air market that continues for blocks. Each different shop has an assortment of flowers, plants, and seeds. Located near the Prince Edward MTR stop, the well-established flower market is known as one of the most colorful places in Hong Kong. People can spend hours weaving in and out through each shop. While I was there, there were husbands on their way home from work picking flowers for their wives. Old married couples buying them for the house. Even children, buying some for their grandparents. Photographers and travelers, looking at the spectacular arrangements of color. All sorts of people! Throughout Hong Kong, there are so many open-air markets everywhere, but this one is a flower arrangers' beautiful dream. After visiting the area for myself, I have to agree with my roommate that this area sure makes Hong Kong feel unique and have a type of vibrant lifestyle.

Kowloon Park

A park located in the middle of Tsim Sha Tsui, or otherwise known as TST, is home to Chinese gardens, an aviary, and kung fu and lion dances every Sunday. This park is truly an escape from the environment around you. This tranquility that exists here in the middle of busy Hong Kong is like a breath of fresh air. Located in the park are also great educational opportunities. They have multiple museums on site such as the Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre, Health Education Exhibition and Resource Centre, and the Avenue of Comic Stars. As I walked my way through Kowloon Park, the rain started coming down all around me. It created a sense of calmness and stillness that I had not felt in Hong Kong yet. The beautiful plants and trees radiated the sound of the rain and allowed me to feel cleansed of any worry or anxiety I might have been feeling. I was also able to experience the park when it was sunny, and the trees created a canopy that protected you from the sun and let only a few rays of sunlight reach the walkway. That is the largest park in all of Hong Kong, so make sure to grab a map when you first walk into the area.

The Jade Market

Jade, in Chinese culture, has been associated with long life and good health. These reasons make jade the perfect good luck charm. The Jade Market in Hong Kong is the hub to buy any variety of jade. The quantity sold at the Jade Market will not disappoint tourists everywhere. If you are looking for a specific piece of jade jewelry or statue, you can find it here. Jade varies in color; there is dark green, yellow, brown, and white. Green jade is the most expensive and purest jade. You will run into some fake jade in the market as well, so make sure to do your research on how to differentiate bogus from real. Below are some simple ways to tell if the jade is authentic, but I am no expert, so make sure to do some more thorough research as well.

1. The Toss Test - Throw the jade up in the air and catch it in your palm. The gemstone is known for its beauty and density. When caught, the jade should feel heavier in your palm than it looks.

2. The Click Test - Take a real jade gemstone and a gem in question and tap them together. If the sound you hear coming from the clicking sounds like a plastic bead, it is most likely fake. If you hear a deep, resonation sound, the gem is most likely authentic.

3. The Feel Test - A distinctive character of the stone is that it is usually cold to touch. The feel of the real jade is cool, smooth, and feels like soap. It takes a while for authentic jade to warm up, so keep this in mind.

4. The Scratch Test - Use a sharp object to scratch the surface of the stone. If it creates a scratch, it is probably not real jade.

While walking through the market, the vendors can be a bit aggressive. Since I am not Asian, they singled me out to be a tourist. That is something to be aware of because vendors were more willing to try and extort me with overpriced fake jade or overpriced real jade. Doing your research about jade and the cost is a must before you go to the market. Make sure to take all precautions when buying, and make sure you can identify real jade from the fake.

Hong Kong Park

Hong Kong Park is known as an oasis of green in an urban setting. It's design blends in with the natural landscape surrounding the area. The park is home to an aviary, a greenhouse, the Flagstaff House Museum of Tea Ware, the Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre, fountains, lily ponds, playgrounds, and even a marriage registry. Located in the middle of Central, Hong Kong, you can tell this park envies the World's different types of art. Plants were in shapes of sculptures, stairways painted with scenes, and there were fountains upon fountains. One thing to make sure of is for you to bring your bug spray! Due to the amount of water and plants located within the park, black flies and mosquitos love it there. I went and sat next to a fountain and drew in a sketchbook for about 30 minutes and left with over 20 bug bites in EACH leg (no joke I counted). A cool thing about the water is that the flowing of water has been employed as a thematic motif to link the different areas of the park by waterfalls, streams, ponds, and cliffs. That makes the place seem like you are flowing through it next to the water. You can also access Victoria's Peak here. The tram that takes you up the side of the mountain, to the famous viewpoint, is right on the other side of the park. Beware of the lines for the tram. They can be quite long, and without a skip-the-line ticket bought in advance, you can wait for a least an hour. Before you leave the park, make sure you grab some photos of the surrounding skyscrapers. Hong Kong Park is a great vantage point to see some of the fabulous architecture Hong Kong is known for.

Additional Advice

Get lost within the city. I discovered so many boutiques, restaurants, bars, and art in the city by not even looking for them. Most of the time, I was trying to find the closest 7-Eleven to connect to their free wifi to figure out where I was. Some of the best photographs I took in Hong Kong are because I took the wrong street, or I was trying to find my way back to one. Getting lost was the best thing that could have happened to me during my time in the city. Due to only being able to rely on me, I found myself more confident and capable after a few days of struggling. I learned the different ways of transportation faster and how to navigate better for the future. Allow yourself to have those adventures and experiences. I promise you it will make your trip more exciting and worthwhile.

Hong Kong will always hold a special place in my heart for many different reasons. It was my first trip abroad, my first time in a different country by myself, and it allowed me to learn that I can depend on myself in difficult situations. It was all-around fun too. There is so much to experience in this individual city, and even after spending three months there, I still feel like I had more to see. I cannot wait until the next time I get to return to this magical city filled with culture, cuisine, and excitement.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page