top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

An Overview of Old Town Scottsdale, Arizona


If you are looking to spend some time in art galleries, bookstores, and beautifully decorated restaurants while you are in Phoenix, Arizona, Old Town Scottsdale is for you. Known for the elaborate art galleries, and delicious restaurants and events, this area is a must-see destination while on vacation. While a pandemic is currently happening, many galleries remain open, and restaurants are offering outside seating.

With COVID affecting our daily everyday activities, while on vacation, some people might assume that everything is closed in Old Town Scottsdale. That is not the case. I was able to enjoy an afternoon stroll while browsing art galleries and book stores along the way. I found many gallery directors who were very welcoming and allowed me to browse the magnificent artists who display their artwork for sale.


While walking, most of the windows to art galleries are tinted black. That may seem like the gallery is closed, but the tinted windows serve a few purposes. One is the fact that it protects the art inside. Direct sunlight on works of art can be quite damaging to the paint or the piece. Most artwork should be stored in temperature-controlled areas protected from the sun. Another reason for tinted windows is the fact the galleries want the viewers to come inside. If everyone could see the artwork from the window, the galley would have no foot traffic. Consumers would have to go to that specific gallery with the intent on buying a piece of art, rather than taking a stroll with the intention only to look at work and then end up buying one. It is a clever way to intrigue someone's interest on what is inside.


I had two galleries that impressed me with their artwork and the treatment I received from the art consultants. Since I am a 25-year-old woman who does not wear designer clothes, many art consultants in the past have written me off at first glance. That is a good lesson. Never assume anything based on what people wear or look. You never know when someone will surprise you. Due to being ignored or turned away from galleries in the past... I have a bit of an anxiety issue before walking into the gallery. That is because it is very demeaning and embarrassing for a person to be treated with no respect and turned away. After all, that person assumed you weren't a worthy customer worth their time. Did I experience this while walking through Old Town Scottsdale? I did, only at one gallery, which I will not mention names. I will never recommend that specific gallery just based on the fact the art consultant told me to leave and did not allow me to have the right to look at some art. These two galleries I will mention stood out to me because of the art consultants' professionalism and the beautiful artwork inside.

The Signature Gallery - This gallery is brimming with magnificent artwork and artist's talent. Between paintings to sculptures, this gallery had it all. The art consultant was incredibly sweet to me and talked to me about each piece while offering me something to drink. I have no complaints about her decorum, and she was very knowledgable about the artists featured. On top of the excellent consulting, the layout of the gallery was well thought out. Each specific artist had a designated cove, which allowed the gallery to not feel cluttered or claustrophobic. Many of the artists pull from the Native American influences in Arizona, but also the desert features. To learn more about this gallery and its featured artists, you can access their website here.

Anticus - This gallery/bookstore combination is nothing like I have seen before. It is unique in the fact that it is both but done tastefully well. When you walk in, the first thing you notice is the high ceilings lined with artwork and the endless amounts of books for sale. I felt more comfortable in this gallery compared to others because it felt like it had a more down to earth vibe, rather than a super sophisticated one. That drew me in from the start. When entering a gallery, you expect an elaborate decor, vibe, and feeling, but this place threw me for a loop. I wasn't expected to feel relaxed, nurtured, and at peace as I did. The art consultants were more than attentive to me and started up a conversation with me that seemed very natural. I am a big reader of physical books, so they suggested their favorites and then some more. This gallery felt like there was something new to look at each time I turned around. That left me wondering if I had seen it all or not. Which, in a gallery standpoint, is a good thing because it brings the customer back if they had a good experience. I found a lot of the artists to have unique styles, and the books were engaging and colorful. One art consultant even suggested that I sit down for a bit to escape the heat and read a chapter from a book to see if I liked it. There was even a comfortable sitting area in the middle of the gallery. It also had a cute dog that wandered around, but that is beside the point. To learn more about this gallery/bookstore, you can access their website here.

This area in Scottsdale left me feeling fulfilled and satisfied when it came to more of my creative, artistic side. I was able to enjoy the multiple galleries and shops along the main strip. I would love to revisit this area when Covid-19 is over, so I would be able to taste some of the delicious food and events that Old Town Scottsdale is also known for. Even with the current COVID situation, this area is a great place to escape to and social distance. I definitely will be returning soon to get my fill of exciting new artwork.

6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page