top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Wandering Through the Uffizi Gallery


The Uffizi Gallery is a well-known art museum located in Florence, Italy. Not only is it known throughout Italy, but it is world-renowned, and one of the most visited museums since it holds a massive amount of priceless artifacts. Many artifacts within the museum are those of the masters of the Renaissance, but more specifically, the Italian Renaissance.


The Uffizi Gallery got its start when the famous Medici family started to die out. The Medici family rose to fame and power by gradually making money as bankers. When they were able to fund the Medici Bank, the bank became the largest in Europe during the 15th century. Due to their wealth and ability to fund many projects around Florence, they became powerful prominent figures within the Italian society. This family is so well-known that many current television shows will reference this family or even portray them in some way if the series or movie takes place during the 15th or 16th century. With everything that rises, it must fall eventually and when the Medici started losing money and power the last remaining heiress donated all the art within their collection to the Uffizi. That created the museum to be a public space for gathering and viewing the magnificent art masterpieces.


I heard about the Uffizi Gallery through my 17th-century art history class back in college. Many of the artists we learned about were Italian, dutch, and flemish, which all masters of those times have individual pieces within the Uffizi. I remember sitting in those 8 am classes trying to stay awake as I learned about the multiple influences each had on their specific time, but I never once imagined I would get to see some of them in person. When I realized I would be traveling to Italy, I knew I had to attend the Uffizi Gallery. I did not learn all of that art history just to have the actual pieces at arm's length and not see them. That would have made me the worst art student on the planet.


I remember the first day I went to the Uffizi Gallery like it was yesterday. June 30th, 2018. I had purchased a tour of the gallery through Tripadvisor and was told we would be able to have a quicker entrance time than if you waited in the general admission line. Joining a tour alone is always strange at first, and to be honest, I do not like to feel restricted from staying with the group. I enjoy to wander and take my time, but when it comes to getting into these museums quickly, they are convenient. I did not know what I was getting into when we entered the museum. I knew we would see all of the masterpieces we could, but I did not realize the scale of this place. As we entered and went through security, I just remember scanning the entire hallway I was standing in. It was massive! One of the biggest and grandest corridors I have ever been in. It was also crowded, which made it almost impossible to see everything within the museum. I walked along with my tour group and listened to my guide as much as my attention span would allow. It was so easy to get distracted because of always having something new to look at. At the end of the tour, I knew I wanted to come back on my own and see the masterpieces I was not able to see on my own time. I had heard that every 1st of the month, the museum has a free entry day, where people can come and line up and wait to enter the museum at their leisure. No tour groups were allowed, and it was first come first serve.


I woke up on July 1st with a mission. I was going to race over to the Uffizi and stand in line until they let me in. I did not care how long it took me to get inside. I was going to see the museum again and explore more than I had the night before. I knew that even with the full day to explore this was the type of museum where you could come multiple times and see new things each time. It was my birthday as well that day, so I was looking forward to seeing some of my favorite pieces of art history and spending my birthday as my leisure.


I raced over to the Uffizi and jumped in line. It was probably 8 am, and the line was already going around the block and some. I ended up waiting 2 hours outside in the sun before it was my turn to go inside. When I say this worth the wait, I mean it. On the 1st of each month, not only are tours not allowed, but they monitor the number of people allowed to go inside the museum. That made the experience much more enjoyable because it was much less crowded with people. There were some rooms where I was able to spend some moments alone that the night prior were shoulder to shoulder with people. I could not believe how different this experience was then the tour. It was like I was in a whole new world. I slowly walked as I read and viewed the following masterpieces.


Judith Beheading Holofernes

Artemisia Gentileschi

Artemisia Gentileschi, one of the few women painters at the time, portrayed the moment Holofernes was struck down by Judith. The painting brings the effect of being frightened and powerful within one masterpiece of art. Artemisia did not shy from the detail of blood spraying due to violent death. She was influenced by Caravaggio's use of lights and darks within his painting and integrated them in this piece to raise the dramatic effect.


Birth of Venus

Sandro Botticelli

Even though this masterpiece is known as the "Birth of Venus," the composition portrays the goddess of love and beauty arriving on land. Being commissioned by the Medici family, Botticelli takes his inspiration from the classic Venus modest pose, with her long blonde hair covering her nakedness. Unlike the "Allegory of Spring," this masterpiece was painted on canvas instead of wood.


Bacchus

Michelangelo Merisi detto il Caravaggio

I am biased because I love Caravaggio. Whenever I see a painting produced by him, I instantly learn the most about it. Bacchus is part of Caravaggio's early series. Caravaggio was a leading figure in his time, helping lead the artistic revolution within Europe. The basket of fruit and cup of wine the god is holding is a surprising factor of his painting. These elements suggest friendliness and frugality. Bacchus and Caravaggio's other piece, "Medusa" were both donated by Cardinal del Monte to Ferdinando I de' Medici at his wedding, which is how both ended up at the Uffizi Gallery years later.


Medusa

Michelangelo Merisi detto il Caravaggio

Caravaggio portrayed this scene of Medusa two times within his career. Once in 1596 and another in 1597. The one that remains in the Uffizi is his 1597 adaptation. The moment being portrayed within the painting is when Medusa was executed by Perseus. In this version, he plays with the concept of replacing Medusa's face with his own. Due to the uniqueness and intricacy within the design, it is said to have complimented Caravaggio's fascination with violence and realism.


Venus of Urbino

Titian

This masterpiece, I have a very stressful connection. I wrote my 17-page term paper on this individual painting from Titian for my 17th-century art history class. By the end of that paper, I was ready to throw any image of this painting away and never see it again, but when I saw it in person, it raised a new appreciation within me for the piece.

Venus of Urbino is one of Titian's most famous works. He was able to confirm his talent when it comes to expressing intensity and character to the subject. The softness of skin and materials within his paintings is one of his staple trademarks as well. The scene displays that of which a woman is seductively waiting for her groom to start her wedding ceremony. The direct eye contact with the view shows that she is not afraid and is assertive in her decision to marry. Her confidence in going into the new union is what has captivated many viewers in the past and now. This painting was also bought directly from Titan by Guidobaldo II Della Rovere, and it was taken to Florence as part of Vittoria Della Rovere’s dowry, the last member of the family and wife of Grand Duke of Tuscany, Ferdinando II de’ Medici.


These are just a few of many masterpieces that remain in the vast hallways and rooms of the Uffizi Gallery. The never-ending maze of exhibits the museum holds can leave an art enthusiast wandering for hours looking at new things each visit. Within my two trips to the museum, I only saw a fraction of what was there. The views of Florence and the famous Hall of Statues are both magnificent and can leave you feeling regal and transported back in time to the 16th century when the building was constructed.

The displays of artwork begin on the exterior of the Uffizi Gallery within the piazza leading up to the entrance of the gallery. Some statues are seen within the Loggia Della Signoria, which is a historic monument. Some of those works consist of The Legend of Perseus, Patroclo e Menelao, and Ratto di Polissena. While waiting in line, it is nice to see some examples of the caliber of art that is waiting for you inside the museum. It helped me stay motivated while I waited 2 hours in line on the 1st of the month.

I cannot wait for my return to the Uffizi Gallery. I have nothing mean or awful to say about either of my experiences when going there. It made my birthday so unique and original than anything I had participated in years prior. The masterpieces within the walls are one of a kind and are produced by some of the best artists known in the world. The Uffizi lived up to its massive reputation, and I would easily spend numerous hours waiting in line to have a glimpse of the magnificent collection.

4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page