top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

My Day Traveling the Amalfi Coast


We had heard from others who had been to Italy that we needed to check out the Amalfi Coast. I especially wanted to see Positano because that was the one city that kept popping up on my Pinterest. The travel photos from this area that I saw online were unbelievable, and I wanted to be just like them, tan, and letting the breeze run through my hair and maxi dress.


Unfortunately, we had run out of time to stay in one of these beautiful towns, but we realized we could book a full-day tour of the coast. I wanted to rent a car and drive through myself, but my parents won the argument and decided to hire a driver. I have to say this was the best decision we could have made. Not only was it crowded with cars, but the road was slim and had constant turns. The person driving wouldn't have been able to experience anything while driving.


Our driver was phenomenal. As my sister says, "the real homie." He had connections with each parking lot owner, and whenever he had a group he was driving, they reserved him a parking space. That saved us a tremendous amount of time when it came to exploring the towns along the way. He also had a perfect lunch recommendation for us that overlooked the cliffside to the ocean. Again, he knew the owner, so we did not have to wait. He was professional and well connected in the area.


The one downside about the private driver option was there was a time limit in each location. It was an hour at each location unless we decided to exclude one of the four suggested. We wanted to see as many towns as possible, so we did go to all four. Those four seaside towns were Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello.


Our first stop was Sorrento. If you were to vacation anywhere on the Amalfi Coast, this should be where you stay. Due to its size, there is more to do and see. Sorrento is widely known for its ceramics, lacework, and woodworking. As we drove up to Sorrento, the first thing we noticed was the view. The cliffside and the ocean was unlike anything I had ever seen. Our driver pulled over on an outlook, so my family could take photos to capture the beauty of the view. Of course, a photograph never does environmental justice, so no matter how many pictures we took, nothing could compare to the real thing. Sorrento is very tourist-based. It is full of shopping and limoncello. Limoncello is almost like an alcoholic wine made of lemons, water, sugar, and alcohol. We had bought a few bottles and some souvenirs here. My family explored the city and walked the area. We became lost within the maze of buildings, but we enjoyed it. We were able to explore small local stores, take photos at our leisure and experience the city on our own on terms. We all agreed that the next time we returned to Sorrento, we would stay here and enjoy the area more.



We returned to the car about an hour later to move on to the next city. We were driving on the cliff of the Amalfi Coast. The ocean views were spectacular the entire way, and we weaved in and out of caves within the cliffside. The drop-down had to be thousands of feet. I imagined falling for a split second and then started to feel the anxiousness of the pit in my stomach. I was thankful that no one in my immediate family drove this road because we were unfamiliar with it. I had never experienced a long stretch of road like this one that was on the coast. I could only imagine from my experience seeing films what it felt like to be traveling on a road with such a magnificent view, but now that I was there, it felt amazing.


Positano was our second destination. My heart was racing and skipping beats. I was so excited to see the town that had plastered my Pinterest and Instagram for months before my trip. When we pulled in, our driver informed us this would be the busiest location of the day, and he was right. The main walkways were shoulder to shoulder of people, and without hooking up parking beforehand, it would have been a nightmare. We all exited the van and started walking down the slopes to reach the water. That was one of the few towns that had a public beach. We weren't planning on swimming or staying longer we just wanted to touch the water. The public part of the beach was almost full of people. There was little space to move because there were people everywhere. The private sections for hotels looked a lot more spacious. My sister and I went back up to an overlook and took some pictures of the ocean. Since there were so many people, it was hard to do anything. There was not enough space to go into the shops or even walk at times. It was nothing like I had imagined it would have been. I was a tad bit disappointed, but I knew we still have two more towns to visit.


At this point in the day, it was lunchtime, and our driver had the perfect suggestion. He knew the owners of this small restaurant in between Positano and Amalfi. He explained how the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was significantly beautiful. Best of all, it was quiet. He had not led us astray yet, so we trusted his opinion, and once again, I am so thankful we did. He was spot on. This restaurant on the outside did not look like anything special, but once the owners led us to the second-floor balcony, the view was one of the prettiest I had ever seen. We sat down at our table, and I was trying to shake a bit of car sickness before I had lunch. Eventually, I felt better, and I ordered some of the best food I had ever had in Italy. The bruschetta was unlike any other I had tasted in Italy. My sister can confirm that I ate bruschetta every day, no matter where we were in Italy. The pasta was also just as delicious as I scarfed it down like it was to be my last meal. Our driver then had the owners send up shots of limoncello. It was one of the best eating experiences I had had. It was so memorable that I am writing about it three years later, and I still can taste everything I ate and smell the atmosphere.


After lunch, we got back in the car and headed to Amalfi. The shopping and treats along the main strip were so colorful. Italian purses, shoes, and clothing were for sale down the path. The high afternoon sun shined down on us, creating a warmer atmosphere, but it made me feel safe and protected within the little town. We were so fortunate to be there in Italy, and we all knew it. The coastline's dramatic cliffs engulfed Amalfi and seemed like a protective barrier. I could see the appeal of Amalfi to tourists. It was a cute, quaint town that attracted many people to visit due to the food, shops, and scenery.


Our last and final stop of the day was Ravello. Ravello is one of the more historic areas on the Amalfi Coast. Their building structures reminded me a lot of Montepulciano in Tuscany. Their older stonework and construction made the buildings feel like they were fragile when in actuality, they were solid. We took photos as a family by the edge of the overlook. That is when my sister and I noticed a wedding in the distance. The atmosphere in this town was very romantic and hidden away. It was kind of like a romantic getaway. It was calmer than the other places and more peaceful overall. It was an excellent way to end a busy day of driving, walking, and shopping. We breathed in the fresh saltwater air and had a moment of tranquility before we got back into the car.


The day trip of the Amalfi Coast was one of those picture-perfect vacation days where everything seemed to work out. With the private driver, we did not have to stress about anything, and we were able to enjoy the day at our leisure. I was worried we might feel rushed, but overall we weren't, and we were able to relax. Also, by not driving ourselves, we did not need to worry about the road or parking. That was another stressor that had been lifted from our shoulders. I wish we could have stayed overnight in one of the towns, but the day trip ended up being the perfect amount of time to experience more than not going at all. I will never forget that day on the Amalfi Coast, as it stands as one of my favorite days while vacationing somewhere.

34 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page