top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Visiting the Vatican


I don't know about anyone else, but I find Vatican City quite intimidating. Being an independent city-state, it is known as the smallest sovereign state in the world by both area and population. That is where the pope resides during his position. There are so many rules to follow, masterpieces to see, and the religious intent behind its creation.

When visiting the Vatican, there are some things you should know before showing up for your tour.


No Bags Allowed - No bags larger than 40 x 35 x 15 centimeters are allowed within the Vatican. All larger bags will be taken and held in cloakrooms until the end of the tour.

Do not Bring Pointy Things - Large umbrellas, walking sticks, camera or video stands, knives, scissors, or any other weapon are not allowed. Any nonthreatening object will be taken and held in the cloakroom with your bags, but to be on the safe side, I wouldn't bring one at all.

YOU MUST BE APPROPRIATELY DRESSED - That one is by far the most important, overlooked rule by tourists. Do not expect to be allowed entry until dressed correctly. That means shoulders, arms, and lower legs must be concealed at all times. No shorts, short trousers, short skirts, sleeveless shirts, or bare shoulders are allowed within the Vatican. Do not even try to fight your way when it comes to this. Be respectful and dress to impress.

Photographs within the Sistine Chapel Are Not Allowed - This rule is strictly enforced, and staff is allowed to forcefully remove any photos or recordings from devices along with yourself. Outside the Sistine Chapel, you can take photographs, but not using a flash. If you think you are going to be clever, and draw the Sistine Chapel, think again. Sketches or drawings must require permission from the museum management before your visit.

Food and Drinks Are Not Allowed - All food and drink are not allowed on tours in the Vatican for fear of damaging artwork and furniture. Water bottles and such, can be held in cloakrooms.

No Touchy - This one is common sense, but touching the artwork is strictly prohibited. Alarms and surveillance systems are in place to catch anyone trying to feel one of the masterpieces inside.

To some people, these rules might seem like overkill. People need to realize that these rules and regulations are created for specific reasons. To preserve the history that remains inside of the building. Being prepared before showing up for the tour is always the way to go, and doing your research on your destination is never a bad idea.

Once you are prepared to go to the Vatican, that is when the excitement can kick in. I remember when I realized I was going to go on a tour, my stomach was doing flips. I was going to see some of the best, world-renown art masterpieces ever. Ever since I was a little girl, I have heard about how important the Vatican is to the Catholic religion. I have learned about Popes and Bishops throughout my school years, but for someone who isn't Catholic, what captured my attention about the Vatican was the art displayed there.

Here are some of my favorite pieces within the Vatican's walls:


The Gallery of Maps - I, to this day, believe I have one of the most interesting photographs I have ever taken take place in this hallway. The hall, a gallery containing a series of painted topographical maps of Italy, is accented with gold frames paintings lining every square inch of the ceiling. The gold complements the bluish tint the room gets from the light coming in from the windows. Commissioned in 1580 by Pope Gregory XIII, it took the artist, Ignazio Danti, three years to complete all 40 panels in the gallery.


The School of Athens - I first learned about this piece in art history class in college. For some reason that I still can't seem to explain, I fell in love with this piece. It has always been one that sticks out within my mind during tests and easily identifiable for me. Being able to see the giant work with my own eyes made me catch my breath. I realized I had been holding my breath while admiring the artwork. The fresco painted by artist Raphael rests in the Stanze di Raffaello in the Apostolic Palace in the Vatican. This room was one of the first rooms to be decorated, and this painting was the third painting to be finished.


The Pietà - This sculpture by Michelangelo is in St. Peter's Basilica within Vatican City. The sculpture was commissioned by the French Cardinal Jean de Bilhères, who was a representative in Rome. I find this piece exceptional, not only because of the detail but because it is the only masterpiece Michelangelo ever signed. Depicting Jesus on the lap of Mary after the Crucifixion, this piece creates a sense of drama. It also pulls the emotions of sadness and distraught within yourself out to the open. The way Michelangelo can play with the viewer's emotions with such an essence baffles me.

The Sistine Chapel - Unfortunately, since they do not allow photos of this portion of the tour, I have nothing to show for my visit there except my memory. I remember first walking into the chapel and feeling like it was a lot smaller than the pictures portrayed. That thought was funny to me because I did not know what to expect except for the paintings on the ceiling. I wish I had photographic evidence of what I saw. Even if it did not portray the beauty of the artwork in the chapel. I never could understand why Michelangelo had built a contraption to lay down on while he was working. That was until I was looking upwards for a period observing it. I am not kidding. I had a kink in my neck for a week after. The other work that was phenomenal was Michelangelo's The Last Judgement. That painting is on the far wall of the chapel. It took four years in total to complete and started 25 years after Michelangelo finished the ceiling! This painting has had mixed feelings from the start of its completion. With much praise came a lot of criticism. The amount of nudity and the muscular style of the bodies has been debated, along with the overall composition. Many people said it was not Michelangelo's usual style, and many questioned why he created a piece in such a way.


Along with the artwork, the architecture of the buildings with Vatican City is magnificent. St. Peter's Basilica is the largest church in the world and was created by four masters, Donato Bramante, Michelangelo, Carlo Maderno, and Gian Lorenzo Bernini. The inside of the basilica has gold plated coffers and incredible detailing within the sculptures displayed. There is always something new to look at and be overwhelming at times. I was not able to absorb everything I was seeing before me when I visited. There was so much to look at I felt like I needed another set of eyes. This place was truly beautiful. You were able to tell that so much thought and precision went into the building. Not one thing seemed out of position. That is a spectacle. There aren't many places that unique, and I was standing in the middle of it.

Visiting the Vatican was an art student's dream come true. Even my parents, who knew nothing about the magnificent paintings were awed and wide-eyed at everything. This place was not just any other church. This area was one of the most creatively beautiful I had ever been. That is something that I thought was unbelievable. The artwork and sculpture throughout the palaces and St. Peter's Basilica are unique originals and complemented the atmosphere. I will never forget my experience there, and I will continue to encourage anyone to visit this beautiful place.

4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page