top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Verona: Being Single in a City Based around True Love


Verona is a city in Italy that is proud to be known for its romance and love. It is believed that Shakespeare's, Romeo and Juliet, takes place in Verona, and there are many attractions based around Shakespeare's most famous tragic love story. So how can you feel confident and travel there alone? Especially, when you are single. I had a pang in my heart seeing all the couples around me, but I was determined to make the most of it.


I am a sucker for love stories. I always have been since I was a little girl. When I was assigned Romeo and Juliet, written by William Shakespeare, my sophomore year of high school, I was one of those teens that did not complain and read ahead of the rest of the class. The scenery I imagined while reading was cobblestone streets, women wearing long beautiful dresses traveling on white horses, and the men having the most spectacular jawlines and washboard abs. When I was presented with the opportunity to travel to Verona, I did not hesitate. I wanted to see the environment that Shakespeare experienced.


The thought of me traveling, as a single woman, to a romantic destination did not occur to me until a few weeks before I left for Italy. Three months prior, I had just ended a very unhealthy relationship, and the last thing I wanted to think about was love. How was I going to survive one of the most romantic places with a broken heart and alone? At that moment, I did not even know how I was going to survive.


I made sure to stay close to the busy part of Verona just in case I felt lonely. That way, I could walk outside and have people around me. I had been in Milan prior, so the vibe there had been different. Milan was a bit like New York City. Everyone is paying attention to themselves and getting from one place to another with little to no communication. In Verona, everyone had another person with them, or at least it seemed that way. I started to become a bit self-conscious of the fact that I was there all by myself.

Once I was situated in my Airbnb, the first thing I did was change my attire. Now, this might sound funny, but clothes can make you feel a certain way. In Milan, I was wearing more business-like apparel, but in Verona, I decided to put on an off the shoulder maxi dress. It gave me complete romantic feels. I might be alone, but I was determined to find tricks and ways to feel more confident when feeling insecure. Verona was so beautiful, and I wanted to reflect that in my attire. People say, "Dress how you want to feel," and there are studies that show dressing a certain way can make you feel a certain way. That is what I did. Here I was, walking down the sidewalk next to the river in a flowing dress, letting my long hair blow in the wind. I immediately felt more romantic. I was feeling great, while I was looking good.


The cafes looked like they were straight out of a romantic film. Eating alone was what I feared the most while traveling solo. That was the moment where I felt the loneliness the most. It did not matter whether I was in a romantic city or not. That feeling usually crept into me when I ate alone. It was something I always had to overcome, no matter where I am. I knew, being in Verona, that feeling would be more amplified. I could not go the entire trip without eating, so I needed to deal with it. One way I overcame this was to ask for a table looking out to the plaza, or the place where you can people watch. I made the situation feel less awkward and gave you something to do when eating. I also scrolled on my phone or brought a book to read while I waited for my food. The advantage of eating alone is that the food comes from the kitchen quickly, which is always good when rushing or when you are hungry.

When going to visit Verona, I was not going to miss seeing the attractions based on Romeo and Juliet. I could not let down my 15-year-old self. The most visited tourist sites were to visit where Juliet's Balcony or also known as Casa di Giulietta. That is supposed to be a replica (the balcony, was constructed in the 20th century) of the area where the famous scene in Shakespeare’s play takes place. That is when Romeo hails Juliet, and she speaks to him from the balcony. Walking into the cove that holds the terrace, this area is shoulder to shoulder of people wanting pictures. The doors and walls are graffitied, with love letters and locks with names of people on them. The statue of Juliet stands in the center of the small square. That is where people say that if you touch the breast of Juliet, you will find your one true love. To me, that sounds like you are sexually harassing a statue, but you will not believe the number of people who take photos doing that. If you have seen the movie Letters to Juliet, this is where Amanda Seyfried's character writes and find the letter in the wall that launches the movie into her romantic adventure.


I am not going to lie, visiting Juliet's Balcony created a pang in my chest that started to throb. I was feeling lonely, but I realized that this is what I came to Verona for. I wanted to feel the romance within the city. I knew I wouldn't be alone forever and that eventually my "Mr. Right" would find me. I kept repeating this every time I felt the pang. It is a natural feeling to have, and I am not embarrassed at all by having it. I just wanted to make sure it did not affect my mindset while visiting Verona.


Verona was made for couples to visit. Most experiences were catered to the romance. Luckily, I was able to find some non-romantic tours and activities to participate in while I was there. That helped my mind to have a break from thinking I needed a travel companion. Let me say, no one needs another person to be happy. You need to be happy and secure with yourself alone. I believe that to achieve ultimate happiness, you need to find it yourself. Now, this might mean you will yearn for someone to be there with you and join in on your happiness, but that is okay. That is what I felt in Verona. I was happy being there and experiencing what I was experiencing, but I was yearning for someone to be with me in my happiness.

The overall atmosphere of Verona was romantic, and even though I was alone and single, I had a fantastic time. It still ended up being one of my favorite cities I visited in Italy. The hopeless romantic within me was thrilled with the Romeo and Juliet background that was, advertised especially. Being alone in these types of atmospheres can be challenging, but remember to keep your head up and be confident with yourself. True love hits you when you least expect it. Who knows? Maybe when you are visiting Verona alone, your special someone will be right around the corner.

12 views0 comments

댓글


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page