top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Trekking Up the Steps of the Palazzo Vecchio


The Palazzo Vecchio is currently the town hall of Florence, Italy. Over the years, it has been called many different names. Originally it was the Palazzo della Signoria, after the ruling body of the Republic of Florence, but also has been called Palazzo del Popolo, Palazzo dei Priori, and the Palazzo Ducale. The name changed according to the varying use of the palace throughout history. Its current name was acquired when the Duke of Medici decided to move his residence across the Arno River to the Palazzo Pitti.


In the front of the building or the façade, various statues rest as decoration, including a copy of Michelangelo's David. The current David replaced the original in 1873 to save the sculpture from the elements outside and preserve the art. The other statue that remains in front of the doors is the group of Hercules and Cacus by Bandinelli. Every few years, the sculptures undergo restoration efforts to keep the sculptures looking new and well restored.


When I first saw the exterior of this building in person, I knew immediately that it was meaningful to the people. Many tourists stopped to take photos of the two humungous, magnificent sculptures. Also, people were entering and exiting the front door often. The decoration above and around the door was detailed and intricate. I could tell by first glance this was truly a historic building.


The Palazzo Vecchio was a building I didn't initially seek to explore. I passed the Palazzo Vecchio when I went to visit the Uffizi Gallery. It is right next to the museum. I noticed and detailing and the tourists surrounding the entrance when I decided to look it up quickly on a google search. I found the history of the building but was more interested in the fact that I would be able to climb the building's tower to experience radiant views of Florence.


Initially, I thought I would be too busy to trek up the main stairs to the top of the tower. I wanted to have a lazy day in Florence and explore the areas I had not seen yet. My family was flying in later that day, and I wanted to be familiar with the city of Florence enough to show them around. As I continued walking, I realized that if I were to get a view of Florence from above, this was my only chance. I turned around and marched my way back to the Palazzo Vecchio.


When you first enter, you are met with a highly decorative inner courtyard. The columns all have intricate ornamentation, making you feel like you had stepped back into the 14th century. In the center, there is a fountain that has a small cupid resting at the top. The picturesque designed ceilings lead your eye all around the courtyard, and you slowly walk beneath them, breathing in the history. You almost feel like it is impossible to be in such a building that has stood for so long.


You do need to pay a small fee to access the top of the tower. After getting my ticket, I went straight to the stairs. My determination made me have a goal to never stop moving until I reached the top. The burning in my legs said otherwise. I had to take breaks along the way, but fortunately, there were windows to peer out of while you went higher. Each window presented a better view than the last, and it was a silent piece of encouragement to keep climbing up the staircase.


The higher I got up into the tower, the more narrow the pathway became. The staircase went from roomy to claustrophobic, and when someone passed you on the way down, you were practically hugging them. I started to imagine that I was a princess running up to my tower. I now understood how Rapunzel must have felt to be locked away for so long. The stonework of the steps and walls felt rough and smooth underneath my fingers all at once. Without the fluorescent lights installed, the passageway would have been dimly lit or even almost complete darkness. My legs continued to push me further and further.


At the peak of the tower, the hallway continued into a complete square allowing panoramic views from the windows. I didn't realize how immersive Florence was until I saw all the buildings below. The pathways and streets weaved away and towards the building. The Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, or also known as the Duomo in Florence, stood high above all other buildings with its magnificent dome on display. I remember standing beside that building and thinking to myself that it was not so huge. The scale of the building compared to others I did not comprehend until I was atop Pallazo Vecchio. The Duomo was humungous! The people below looked like small inhabitants within a toy village, and I had to remind myself how far up I was. I finally could breathe from all the effort I put into reaching the top and inhaled the fresh air of the city. I stood there a moment admiring the view from each side of the building, then decided it was time for the descend.

While I was at the top of the Palazzo Vecchio, I had gotten word that my family safely landed in Rome and would take the train up to meet me in Florence. I was able to send them photos of my current view, and their excitement to experience Italy started to grow even more. I had been in Italy for two weeks at this point alone and was ready to be able to interact with humans daily and share the experiences and views in person. I was grateful I was able to see the city of Florence from above and capture the moment through photographs. Yes, my legs ached for the rest of the day and the next day, but overall that was a view I will never forget. The realization of how massive the Duomo is, compared to the rest of the city, made me realize that not everything is what it seems from the ground.

9 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page