top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Navigating Venice: Alone and Unattended


As I stepped out onto the platform from the train, the first thing that engulfs me is the smell of the ocean air. The wind wisps my loose hair from my ponytail out of my face, as I have my suitcase in tow. I hear Italian greetings all around me yelling to arriving family members, "Salve! Che piacere vederti!" The words to my ears are foreign to me. I smile as I see a little girl run toward her father, the two of them embracing as he arrives. Confused tourists surround the station as I walk out, trying to figure out where their hotel room is within the city. Beeping and honking from the water taxis greet me as I step out into the open air. I stop. I pull out my hotel directions to look at the address. I did not need to take a taxi. I could walk. I look up and take in my surroundings for the first time. The Grand Canal is 100 feet away. I was here in the City of Water.


I turned left and started walking down the main street along with other visitors, each pulling a suitcase to or from the Stazione di Venezia Santa Lucia. The main street is buzzing with shops and restaurants. Women in flowing dresses, big hats, and sandals are taking pictures while drinking wine. I smile. I could not wait to sit and have a glass of wine on the water.


I walked through an alleyway that was off from the main street. I see my hotel sign, Hotel Caprera. A quaint little place tucked away in the busy city. I walk in to see a traditional, old school key hook behind the front desk. The man greeted me with a smile as he took down my name and handed me a room key. I am on the top floor. I drag my suitcase to my room and open the door. It's small, but it will work out fine. I quickly drop off my luggage, grab my purse, and leave to explore the city.


I step back into the saltwater air and feel the sun on my skin. It was a perfect day to walk and stretch my legs. I quickly scampered back onto the main street, which was pedestrians only. Cars were not allowed on this side of the canals. It was all walking from here. I made my way through shops that held famous glasswork and porcelain masks. I came to a more intricate pathway that split three ways. I looked up toward the sky. I didn't realize how tall the buildings were in Venice. It was maze-like.


I followed the crowd until the alley pathway became more narrow. People started funneling together like cattle being led into a barn. Shoulder to shoulder with strangers, keeping my bag close, I dashed through the path, and it came to an enormous opening in buildings. I looked down at my map. I had reached St. Mark's Square. St. Mark's Basilica towered over me. I could feel my mouth drop, and eyes widen a bit. I was amazed. I stood in that square for fifteen minutes, trying to regather my thoughts. My eyes shifted to a small girl holding a cone full of gelato. It looked so delicious. I skipped to the line of the gelato shop and grabbed myself my favorite, mango.


I walked back toward the grand canal as the gelato dripped down onto my hand. I lapped it up as quickly as I could, reminding me of a puppy drinking water. I felt at peace. Relaxed and enjoying myself. I reached the restaurant I had seen earlier and grabbed a table up against the water. The waiter offered me complimentary wine, and I happily received it. I leaned back in my chair and sipped the wine at a slow, graceful pace. My eyes were studying the surrounding area and watching the boats travel by. "So, this is Venice?" I had thought to myself. It's tranquil.


My dinner arrived, and I was ready to stuff my face, but that would have not coincided with the atmosphere. I ate slowly and eventually devoured the entire plate full of pasta. I paid and rose from my seat. Now what? I had no plans for this day. My tours were tomorrow and the next. I decided to walk again and see the city at night. I crossed over many bridges and walked down many paths until I reached a young man playing the saxophone. His music lured me in. I was entranced by the magic he was creating; and watched him play for a good while. I had taken a video, but I knew that it wouldn't do him any justice. He was immaculate.


His playing came to an end, and I drifted out of his trance and back to reality. The exhaustion from the travel day and exploring was hitting me. I turned back the way I had come, to return to my room.


I laid down in the twin-sized bed, showered, and having the next day planned out. As I laid there, the realization that I was in Italy became real. The food, wine, smells, sights were all overwhelming me. The excitement for the rest of my trip grew more and more within me. As my eyes drooped and shut, the last thought I had was that I never wanted this feeling within me to ever disappear. I wanted to live my life, feeling this as much as I could.

12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page