top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Knocking A Visit to Michelangelo's David Off My Bucket List


I know I am only 25 years old, but I think about my life consistently. I do not want to live with any regrets, grudges, or mixed feelings about things, that I reflect on years later and wish I changed or did something differently. I started making multiple bucket lists at the early age of 18. My obsession with living my life to the fullest stemmed from when my father had to ask me difficult questions about what I would want if I was in a tragic accident and couldn't advocate for myself. That same night was when my first bucket list was made.

I have had conversations about bucket lists with my parents, friends, siblings, and their thinking doesn't always align with mine. Some think it is weird or abnormal for someone my age to think of death regularly. Many have asked me if I am okay mentally, and I am. I want to make sure I don't waste time in my short life on Earth on things that aren't important to me. I want to use my extra free time, while not working on my career or bettering myself or my relationships, on activities I have always aspired to do or be a part of. Is that so weird? Does it matter that I am starting that process early? I find that my parents, in their late 50's, are thinking about these things for the first time. I feel like, for me, that is too late.

My bucket lists are constantly changing as I grow older. That is why I have multiple. As I learn about different activities, they get added to the list. As my wants and desires change, I trash some others. One activity, or want that had, which made every list I have made, was to see Michelangelo's David in person. In 2018, during my trip to Italy, I was able to knock that item off my list.

My family had just joined me in Florence, Italy and we all decided that we could not continue our trip in Italy until we saw the famous structure. Michelangelo's David is one of the few art pieces that people see in the average student's history books. That sculpture I had seen multiple times growing up over the years, even before I decided to attend art school. The detailing and skill level accomplished is immaculate. The details within the sculpture play with reality. If the statue wasn't 17 feet tall, you might believe that this was a real man posing, painted with white.

Sculpted by Michelangelo from 1501 to 1504, David was originally commissioned as one of the statues to be positioned along the roofline of the Florence Cathedral. Instead, it rested in front of the Palazzo Vecchio in the Piazza della Signoria. Later, David was moved to the Galleria dell'Accademia in 1873 to save the masterpiece from the outdoor elements. Another David was constructed to replace the original and still rests within the piazza.

The specific pose of the sculpture was unlike any other among the Renaissance depictions of the biblical story David and Goliath. Other artists always included Goliath within the sculptures or paintings, but this was the first time an artist had omitted the giant. The statue also was the first time an artist showed David before the battle, and in a tense pose with the look of concentration upon his face. The contrapposto pose conveys the feeling that David is about to be in motion. In the High Renaissance, the contrapposto pose was thought to be a distinctive feature of antique sculpture and can be seen throughout the period.


The proportions of Michelangelo's David might seem a little off. That is because they are a bit. The sculpture has an unusually large head and hands. That might be because the statue was originally intended to be on the cathedral roofline, and Michelangelo wanted those parts of the masterpiece to be seen more clearly from below.

When my family and I entered the Galleria dell'Accademia, you could say this place was a little crowded. People were pushing their way through to see the magnificent piece which was displayed in the center of the room at the end of a large hallway. The dome window that allows the natural light to illuminate David highlighted the details Michelangelo worked so hard on. Veins within the hands and arms were visible and made the marble look more flesh-like instead of a hard cold surface. I had heard about the detailing within this particular masterpiece, but I did not realize how skilled Michelangelo was until I laid eyes on David, myself.

The 360-degree viewing area allows visitors to take in the piece from any angle. As I walked around David, I could not seem to find one flaw that Michelangelo made. Over time, the statue has acquired small cracks and damage within the legs due to the length of time it has remained standing. The preservation of the sculpture has been immaculate to allow it to be as preserved as it has.

This masterpiece was one of the more important sites to see on my bucket list. To be able to cross this off has made me feel accomplished and fulfilled in a way. My outlook on art and history had changed over the years, and I feel like I have had a newfound appreciation for them as I grew older. The more historic places I have seen and artifacts I have been able to lay my eyes on, I realize how significant each one is to our time.

Whether you feel like your life is insignificant or not, you, as a person, are affecting another person's life and what you do with your time is important. I want to be able to accomplish all my desires and goals within my lifespan with no regrets or "what ifs." I believe that it is never too early to start realizing what you want to experience or participate in. My way of sorting that out in my head is making bucket lists and having conversations about them with others. I don't care if others see that as morbid or unnecessary. I want to make sure I do not miss anything that I deem important within my life, and I am trying not to waste any second of the time I have on this Earth.

6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page