top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Finding Wanderlust within the Museo di Castelvecchio and the Verona Arena


Verona is the city of love. Many believe that Shakespeare's famous play, Romeo and Juliet, was inspired by this small town in Italy. The tourism for Verona is based all around the two lovers. Along with the essence of love, many historic buildings encompass the area. The Museo di Castelvecchio might be a museum now, but its walls once was a fortress built by Cangrande II of the Della Scala family in 1354–1356. Verona also contains the Verona Arena, which is still in use today. It is internationally famous for the large-scale opera performances given there. The older structure is one of the best-preserved arenas to date.

So, what is it like to galavant around these beautiful structures? In-person it's indescribable. The stories and people who had walked through the same halls hundreds of years ago is inspiring. The fact that buildings can last that long and survive is baffling. I was speechless.

The Museo di Castelvecchio is just outstanding. The museum holds many medieval artifacts like ceramics, ancient weapons, paintings, and statues. The sculptures are not limited to medieval times though, most date back to the Romanesque period. I decided to go to the museum to see the fortress that holds it all. It is still standing due to the preservation and restoration efforts of architect Carlo Scarpa from 1959 until 1973. The building is of red brick in the shape of a square compound. The most defining feature of the castle is the M-shaped merlons that run along the walls of the fortress and the Castelvecchio bridge. It's believed that it was built as a deterrent to attack by powerful neighbors like the city-state of Venice. During the Venetian rule, the fortress was badly damaged due to the Napoleonic wars. It is said to be where Napoleon stayed in the castle many times when visiting the area.

Navigating my way through the fortress was so much fun! The museum lets you have a lot of freedom to explore new rooms, corridors, balconies, and outside walkways. There were not a lot of "off-limits" areas like in most museums. I was able to find quiet hallways of Castelvecchio where I could be alone for a while and embrace the silence of the massive structure. The brick walls created a feeling of sturdiness, making you feel more grounded than the norm. I found myself looking out over Verona, reflecting on life and how I got to that moment emotionally and mentally. My dress started to float within the wind, and for a flash, I felt like a true princess. I strolled along the Castelvecchio Bridge, listening to street musicians and watching the locals hurry on with their day. While the sun beat down on my skin, the violinist's music filled my ears with beautiful melodies. I imagined what daily life would have been like for the people from long ago. It was a transcending moment of clarity, realizing how important and unique structures like the Museo di Castelvecchio and the Castelvecchio Bridge are.

I continued my day, concentrating on history, as I walked over to the Verona Arena. All I knew about the arena was that it is where the Cycle 2 women of America's Next Top Model had to participate in a Solstice Sunglasses photoshoot. I did not know it was still currently being used to host operas and is one of the best-preserved ancient structures to date. Once being able to hold 30,000 people, it now only operates seating 15,000 people and will be used in the closing ceremony of the 2026 Winter Olympics. Constructed in 30 AD, it originally rested outside the town walls. Many figures throughout time have attended operas within the arena.

When I walked through the entrance, I was impressed with how up-kept it was. I didn't realize it was still in use, so I was admiring everything from the twisting basement corridors to the amphitheater above. The light and dark shadows I found interesting. I was taking photographs left and right, trying to capture the essence of the moment. I felt like I was a gladiator walking to my death as the light shone in. Or the corridors that were pitch black, I felt the eeriness of the past creep over my skin. As I sat in the arena, there was not a bad seat in the house. I even FaceTimed my family from the bench where I sat. You can enter the Verona Arena without a tour, so I could explore at my own pace, which was relaxing. Present-day Verona revolves around the arena. It feels like the center point of the town. All the roadways seem to lead to the main street of the arena. Even the pathways to walk along with the magnificent structure are lined with shops and restaurants. Verona is a very walkable place, so I found myself passing the arena multiple times as I went to new destinations.

It is true what people say. When you are in person at these historic sites, the impact they make is so much more significant than learning about them from a textbook. I wish while I was in school, I was able to live in an area where we were able to experience more sites like Museo di Castelvecchio or the Verona Arena. I would have had a better appreciation of history and maybe even paid more attention to what was going on in class. Studying history helps us develop a better understanding of the world. Building knowledge of the past can be beneficial for the future, so it is significant to preserve as many buildings, structures, events as we can. That way, we can enjoy them like our ancestors had in the past and realize how far the world has developed to the current time.

6 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page