top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Experiencing the Santa Maria Novella


Many classic art enthusiasts have heard of the Santa Maria Novella in Florence, Italy. The church is home to multiple art treasures created by masters of the Gothic and early Renaissance.

Situated opposite the main railway station in Florence, the church captivates tourists' attention daily. I became drawn to the site because I have a strong art history background, and it was a magnificent place to explore while waiting for my family to arrive in Florence by train. My family decided to join me for the rest of my time in Italy for a vacation. I had traveled from the Northern cities to the Southern cities of the country in 2018, and my family met me halfway through my travels.


I stood outside the church for a minute, taking in the façade of the building. The front of the building was something I had only seen through pictures of a textbook. I had never imagined that I would be standing in Florence, in front of one of the most well-known churches in the world. The classic Renaissance architecture had been something I always wanted to experience in person. This moment for me was surreal. It made me realize that these artworks inside were hundreds of years old, and I was about to see them in person. In class, they seemed so far away, but I was about to be an arm's length away from some of these masterpieces.


Some of the famous artwork that rests inside the Santa Maria Novella is the following:


Holy Trinity

Masaccio

The Holy Trinity is one of the first and foremost examples of Renaissance perspective. Masaccio painted the fresco along the middle of the basilica's left aisle. The overall configuration of the church had changed since Masaccio created the piece. Specific indications allowed historians to conclude that the masterpiece aligned perfectly concerning the perspective of the room at the time. Originally, the fresco included a physical ledge used as an altar. That helped Masaccio further enhance the sense of depth and reality within the work. To push the illusion further, the figures within the painting are roughly life-sized. While observing the image, the average human's eye-line would have been about ground-level in the piece, having Death, in the form of a crypt and skeleton, directly in front of them.



The Crucifix

Giotto

The Crucifix is magnificent. At the height of nineteen feet, it is the same shape as the San Damiano crucifix, which was supposed to have spoken to St. Francis of Assisi. Christ within the piece has a strong resemblance in depiction as the Arena Chapel in Padua. The square panels, at the end of each arm, depict the Virgin and St. John. The reality depicted within the artwork truly moves away from the idealized Byzantine art period and into the Renaissance.


While sitting in the church, I was admiring the altar. The gold centerpiece and the artwork painted from years ago left a feeling of gathering and peace. The aurora of the Santa Maria Novella had the same effect on my soul, along with the immense respect it has gained over the years. I wrapped my shawl around my shoulders tighter to feel the embrace of warmth and a sense of belonging as I sat on the pew.



The frescos on the ceilings and walls were everywhere. The depictions of the stories from the bible or significant events that took place from the scripture were detailed and beautiful. As the sun shone through the stained glass window displaying the array of magnificent colors upon the floor, there was a calming effect that washed over my soul. I had never been a religious person, but I can imagine it would have felt something like this.


No matter where I turned my head or where my eyes wandered, there was something new to see. The atmosphere brought tears to my eyes as I sat in the same spot that I seemed glued to. I realized I had stopped breathing at that moment. I gasped for a breath of air when I internally understood the importance of preserving artwork and buildings that are a part of history. Without these magnificent pieces of art or the history of structure I was sitting in, people were not able to have moments like the one I was having. As an artist myself, you hear people say, "what would the world be without art or creativity?" That question never really sank into me. Before, my art was a form of expression to help me deal with my internal struggles, but here I was admiring everything from the architecture, paintings, sculptures, and windows. I started to think philosophically about that question. I had never seen my art as being impactful to others, but maybe it was. Maybe my art made someone else feel a certain way, similar to what I felt while I was in Santa Maria Novella. If I were able to make someone feel the warmth and acceptance that I felt within the church, I would be sleeping with a smile on my face.


Due to my visit to the Santa Maria Novella, I was in an even more cheerful mood to reunite with my parents and sister. I had a new burst of energy to show them around Florence and experience the rest of Italy with them. The resurgence that I gained within me I will never forget and will be forever grateful to experience.

13 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page