top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Driving Through Tuscany: The Experience I Will Never Forget


Many people who have visited Italy will preach to you about how they rented a car and drove through the Tuscany region. They explain how the drive allowed them to see all the little towns and fortresses on top of the hills, along the main highway. My family and I were told to visit some cities along the way before we reached our final destination, Montepulciano.


After spending about two weeks in Italy alone before my family joined up with me, I was ready to be around some people. My dad had organized renting a car, and the plan was to drive to Montepulciano in one day but stop at the towns, San Gimignano and Monteriggioni along the way. The overall drive from Florence to Montepulciano would have been about two and a half hours since we took a bit of a detour to see the towns. Both towns were recommended to us by my father's friends, and the views were said to be spectacular.


Now, living in the United States, my father had not driven a stick shift in years. He had the experience and knowledge of how too, but the last stick shift vehicle he had driven was probably a tractor in his late 20's when he lived on a farm. That was the first obstacle of our road trip extravaganza. My dad had to reacquaint himself with the gear shifting, and the maneuvering of one hand on the wheel. The beginning of the trip was a lot of laughter and jokes as the car jerked back and forth, but eventually, he became more comfortable with it, and the ride became a lot more smooth.


The scenery of Tuscany was magnificent. A lot prettier than I had imagined. I was worried that so many people had talked up Tuscany's views, that when we got there, it would not have been as impressive. Luckily, that wasn't the case, and the scenery was beyond what anyone could have explained.


Our first stop, San Gimignano, was so unique. Before this stop, I had only been in major cities, but the change of pace was refreshing. The cobblestone streets and the impressive hillside views overlooking the smaller hills and valleys were picturesque. We had known that parking was going to be an issue, but eventually, we did find a spot and were able to escape the car for a few hours.


The towers and stonework throughout San Gimignano were centuries years old. The fortresses were so well preserved that San Gimignano is also known as The Town of Fine Towers. The tall archways that supported these towers and pathways were magnificent, and I was amazed that many had lasted over so many years. Tourists passed through the archways and crowding the main street as many took photos, went into the shops, and explored the many alleyways of the town. Many people ventured here to steal a taste of the famous white wine. The wine, Vernaccia di San Gimignano, is produced from the ancient variety of Vernaccia grape, which is grown on the sandstone hillsides in the area.


The more deserted areas of the town allowed you to breathe and take in the experience. The cold touch of the stone beneath my fingers and the shade provided by the buildings helped cool me down on the hot summer day. I found myself following the ivy along with the stone, enjoying the quiet moment. The contrast of green and brown from the ivy and cobblestones caught my attention, and the beauty of the city was able to come alive the further I got out of the touristy area.


After exploring for a few hours and trekking up the hills within the town, my calves were burning, and I was ready to sit in the car until we reached our next destination. My family wrapped up their shopping and exploring, and we all made our way back to the car. We blasted the air conditioning and were onto our next destination.


As we drove up to Monteriggioni, from a distance in the car, we saw the humungous wall that forbade anyone from attacking. The barricade made the town feel intimidating and protected, both of which would have been perfect for the area when they needed to be scary and safe. We drove up to the entrance and realized we needed to park outside the wall and then walk into the city. When right up next to the giant stone wall, you notice at that moment just how tall it was.


When you walked into the town, in the main square, you can see how small of a town it was by acknowledging the surrounding walls. This medieval town is architecturally and culturally significant due to how long it has been standing. You can walk up onto the top of the wall and look out over the land and see the views of what guards of the town say centuries ago. The thought of that is significant within itself and unique to what I had experienced before. The cobblestone streets and stone walls and structures were similar to San Gimignano, but these seemed older, and the ivy seemed to be wilder. With the hot afternoon sun on my skin, I stared at all the history this town holds, which was very different than anything within the U.S. At that moment, I realized the significance of just how long these buildings had been functioning and standing.


While walking into a shop in Monteriggioni, I learned that the video game, Assassins Creed 2, had a storyline that was based within that town. The locals had been selling merchandise for the game and were proud to be featured. You can only imagine the surprise of when you are in such a historic place, and then you see modern-day merchandise sold. It was humorous to me because of the contrast of time. I am interested in video games and animation (animation was my college major) that I found this very unique that the town was featured. I later found out that San Gimignano was also in the same game. I found it fascinating that a game like Assassins Creed would use the two towns as an environment within the storyline.


After exploring for the day, we finished the drive to Montepulciano, where we planned on staying for the next few days. We were excited to be in a unique area of Tuscany and out of all the major cities. We were ready to drink some of the famous Montepulciano wine and explore the vineyards around. After what we had experienced in San Gimignano and Monteriggioni, we were excited and ready for the next few days of adventure.

9 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page