top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Hamilton

Confronting Demons While on a Famous Venice Gondola Ride


When you think of Venice, Italy, you think of the classic gondolas holding romantic couples navigating the canals within the city. Now, if you're traveling with a significant other, this fantasy can become real for you. But, if you're not, this fantasy can turn into a nightmare real quick.


The gondolas are one of the more well-known tourist attractions within the city. People can wait for hours just for their 30-minute ride. Also, what about the cost? Tourist attractions are never cheap.


Well, the first thing you should know is that the gondolas are not taxis. They are not something that has a hop-on, hop-off option. Those are water taxi's, and they are motorized. You pay for gondolas in 30-minute increments. They are traditional, flat bottomed rowboats that are powered by a single gondolier. Sometimes for an extra tip, the gondolier will sing while they are rowing. In the past, this specific profession was not the desired one. Now, in modern times it is seen as an elegant craft, and some gondoliers participate in specific rowing races.


When it comes to the price of a 30-minute ride, people need to realize that these boats are now mainly used for tourism. That makes the price higher than the average boat ride. For a single 30-minute day ride around the canals, it cost me about 100 U.S. dollars. If I were to go at night, the cost would have been more around 150 U.S. dollars because the evening is in higher demand. You can stay on the gondola for a greater amount of time, but always check the prices with the gondolier before the ride starts. A way to save some money and still go on a gondola ride is to find a tour that includes a group price. Many of these tours involve a different attraction as well, so overall you are saving more money on two things, rather than spending it all on one.


Since I had never been to Italy, and I wanted to experience a private ride, I fished out the 100 dollars and climbed aboard. At first, I thought nothing of it. I was just a woman, traveling alone, who wanted to be able to tell people I had tried it out. As I looped around the corner of a canal, that's when I realized no one did this alone. Couples were surrounding me in different gondolas, making me ache for someone to share the experience. These romantic couples would stare at me as I passed. Now, let me be honest here, they probably weren't staring as long as I thought, but the realization of my feeling like I looked pathetic in their eyes made the stares seem longer.


I am usually okay with doing things alone. I LOVE to travel by myself! At this moment on the gondola, I did regret it. I was happy and excited to gain the experience, but the loneliness that went along with it, I could have never felt in my life and been fine. For someone who is already painfully single, they don't need that constant reminder or feeling of judgment that goes along with it. So, for me being on that gondola alone made my heartache. The 30-minutes started to feel like hours.


As the minutes ticked by at what seemed to be a ridiculously slow pace, I felt myself sink deeper and deeper into the chair. I started to forget what was important in this situation. The feeling of being judged by others was slowly encompassing me to where I could not focus on anything else. I wonder how pathetic I looked, or if the other gondola-goers felt sorry for me. My mood changed from excited to me wanting to hide. But then, I had a realization I should have had before I even stepped a foot into the gondola. This experience was for me. No one else. So, who cared if others saw me? Maybe some even thought I was vigorous enough to be able to do many things alone. I needed to refocus my attitude and attention on the real reason why I was on this adventure. I wanted to find who I was and see the beautiful country, Italy, inside and out. I was inspired when I was in difficult situations, so I changed my fractured thinking into something positive, my appreciation for life.


I did appreciate the ride overall. I don't regret taking the ride, but I regret not understanding the fact that I would have to confront this feeling. Even though I felt this way, I was trying to be positive at the moment. I was taking in the beautiful canals and scenery that goes along with Venice. I was watching the local fisherman navigate out to sea to collect their daily catch. The city became alive to me in a new light. It wasn't about the art or the architecture that captivated me anymore, it was the culture. The locals treated this magnificent city like I treated my hometown. It was just a place to live and survive. That crowd of people probably appreciated the beauty of the environment, but to them, it was just their everyday life.


I exited the gondola, realizing that I was fortunate to be able to experience something like this. Even though I felt judged and embarrassed for riding in the gondola alone, I was able to experience the traditional rowboats I had heard so much of. At the end of the day, that was my mission. I wanted to participate in something new and foreign to me, whether or not I had someone to do it with me. I never want to let being alone or traveling alone conquer what I can or can't do. I am strong enough to deal with the stares, judgment, and embarrassment as long as I believe that in the end, the activity will be beneficial to my learning and life.

6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page